Arthur W. Staats Lecture for Unifying Psychology

The Arthur W. Staats Lecture was established in 1997 by Peter S. Staats, MD, in honor of his father, Arthur W. Staats, PhD. Each year, the lecturer delivers an address on a body of work which has held great significance for many fields of psychology, or has the potential to be extrapolated to have unifying power within the discipline of psychology as a whole.

Winner will be announced at the annual convention of the APA the year of submission. The awardee of this award will be expected to give an invited address at the subsequent APA convention in 2015 and also to provide a copy of the award presentation for inclusion in the newsletter of the Society (The General Psychologist). The award is dated for the year in which the lecture is presented. The awardee will receive a certificate and a cash prize of $1000 to help defray travel expenses for that convention.

Annual deadline: Feb. 15


There are no restrictions on nominees, and self-nominations as well as nominations by others are encouraged for these awards

How to Apply

Nominations materials should include the nominee's curriculum vitae along with a detailed statement indicating why the nominee is a worthy candidate for the award including evidence that the nominee would give a good lecture.

Send nominations to Dean Keith Simonton, PhD

Past Recipients

2014: Peter Salovey, Yale University
2013: Diane Halpern, Claremont McKenna College
2012: Ellen Langer, PhD, Harvard University
2011: Wilbert J. McKeachie, PhD, University of Michigan
2010: Douglas Candland, PhD, Bucknell University
2009: J. Bruce Overmier, PhD, University of Minnesota
2008: Susan T. Fiske, PhD, Princeton University
2007: Bruce McEwen, PhD, Rockefeller University
2006: Hazel Markus, PhD, Stanford University
2005: Frans de Waal, PhD, Emory University
2004: Paul T. Costa, PhD, National Institute on Aging
2003: Robert J. Sternberg, PhD, Yale University
2002: Marvin Goldfried, PhD, State University of New York, Stony Brook
2001: Gregory Kimble, PhD, Duke University
2000: Martin E. P. Seligman, PhD, University of Pennsylvania
1999: No lecture given
1998: Arthur W. Staats