APA Speakers Network

The APA Speakers NetworkWelcome to the APA Speakers Network 2012, a directory of 225 U.S. psychologists ready to share their expertise with others. These speakers are all experts on their topics, among the 5 percent of APA members elected a “fellow” of APA, based on their “unusual and outstanding contributions to psychology.” These include some of the premier psychologists in the USA, many leaders in their field, textbook authors, and at least five past-Presidents of the association.

This directory is arranged by U.S. zip code, so local groups can quickly find experts in their region. It lists each expert’s name, best email addresses (or phone contact), their website, if any, and some of their key topics. In addition, a code in the upper right indicates experts’ availability as:

S= Speaker, to h (high schools), u (universities/colleges), g (community groups), c (corporations)
M= Mass media, as an expert on their topic
A= Advisor, to s (students) or c (colleagues)
H= Host, to show student groups their lab (l), clinic (c), or other on-site facility.
L= Language fluency besides English

Topics span the full range of psychology—science, practice, teaching, consulting, advocacy. Some topics are general—such as stress, aging, sexuality, child-rearing, faith. Others are specific—such as crib death, airport screening, sleep inertia, laterality. Still others are highly practical for students and professionals—such as licensure, careers, teaching, ethics, publishing.

Note the geographical lists of 1,100 campuses registered with Psi Chi, the 150 two-year colleges registered with Psi Beta, and more specialized psychology speaker networks below.**

Rivka Bertisch Meir, Ronald G. Shapiro or Harold Takooshian (APA Speakers Network co-chairs) are at your service and wish you success in using this directory. Telephone: (212) 636-6393

* Note: The third edition of PSYCHE (Psychology Speakers You Can Hear Easily) was funded by mini-grants from the American Psychological Association’s CODAPAR (Committee on Division-APA Relations). The first edition was constructed by Beverly Stevens of Illinois State University with a team of 15 collaborators from APA Divisions 1 (Society for General Psychology), 2 (Society for the Teaching of Psychology), 21 (Applied Experimental and Engineering Psychology) and 52 (International Psychology). More details on the APA Speakers Network (PDF, 241KB), as well as Psi Chi and Psi Beta, are available.

**Links to other speaker networks

APA National Speaker Network

Harold Takooshian, Rivka Bertisch Meir, Ronald G. Shapiro (co-chairs)

How can students or colleagues find a noted psychology expert to be a guest speaker for their local school or community group? In August of 2012, APA released its updated and expanded roster of over 200 experts who kindly registered for the new APA Speaker Network, to share their expertise as speakers to local student and community groups. This national roster is arranged in zip code order, with over 200 APA Fellows prepared to share their “unusual and outstanding” expertise with local audiences. In addition, some of these experts are also prepared to host visits to their lab or clinic, speak with the media, or advise younger colleagues or students. These gracious experts include several textbook authors, some of the leaders of US and international psychology, and five past-Presidents of APA. View the International Psychology Website.

This PSYCHE network—Psychology Speakers You Can Hear Easily—was first arranged in 2006 with an APA CODAPAR mini-grant. It currently spans four APA divisions—1 (general), 2 (teaching), 21 (human factors), 52 (international)—and will expand to include other APA divisions in 2013. It also cooperates with other speaker networks, including GlobalΨExpo for international speakers.

Five APA Past-Presidents are among the 212 APA experts in the APA speaker network.

Five APA Past-Presidents are among the 212 APA experts in the APA speaker network

From left to right: Norman Abeles (Michigan), Florence Denmark (New York), Frank T. Farley (Pennsylvania), Diane Halpern (California), Bonnie R. Strickland (Massachusetts).