People & places

The author discusses 2011 scholarships recipients, university promotions for colleagues, and the 10th aniversary of the Illinois School Psychology Internship Consortium

By Ara J. Schmitt, PhD

The Society for the Psychological Study of Social Issues (SPSSI) has selected Amanda Clinton, PhD, as the recipient of the 2012 Outstanding Teaching and Mentoring Award. SPSSI is an international association of psychologists and other social scientists. The selection committee recognized Clinton as an internationally prominent teacher and mentor.

The Illinois School Psychology Internship Consortium (ISPIC) would like to announce its 10th anniversary of serving school psychology pre-doctoral interns. This anniversary will be marked by a conference and celebration called “Stories of Innovation” June 15, 2012 (3CPDUs) in Highland Park, Ill. All are welcome to attend. Registration information.

The School Psychology Program at Duquesne University is pleased to announce that Dr. Elizabeth McCallum and Dr. Ara Schmitt earned tenure and promotion to the rank of Associate Professor. Dr. Laura Crothers also earned promotion to the rank of Full Professor. Rik Carl D’Amato has accepted the position of full-time Director of the Center for Teaching and Learning Enhancement at the University of Macau. In addition, he has been selected as incoming Associate Head of the Department of Psychology in the faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities.

The following school psychology doctoral students received 2011 scholarships from the American Academy of School Psychology: Juliana Negreiros (University of British Columbia); Carmelo Callueng (University of Florida); Nathaniel von der Embse (University of Michigan); Stephanie Samar (St Johns University); and Jennifer Twyford (University of California at Santa Barbara). Scholarship applications for the 2012 AASP scholarships are being accepted until May 15, 2012. For information about these scholarships please contact Shawn Powell, PhD, ABPP, President of the American Academy of School Psychology. The School Psychology Program at Rutgers University is pleased to announce that Timothy Cleary will be joining our faculty in Fall, 2012, and that Elisa Shernoff will be joining us in Fall, 2013.

The Executive Board of the Council of Directors of School Psychology Programs (CDSPP) is pleased to announce Abigail Harris, PhD, Associate Professor and Director of the School Psychology Program at Fordham University has agreed to serve at Chair- Elect for the 2012-2013 year as Dr. Pamela Fenning, Loyola University completes her responsibilities as Chair. She will also be assisted by Dan Olympia, PhD, Associate Professor/ Training Director at the School Psychology Program, University of Utah as Secretary-elect.

CDSPP also announced that Dr. William Strein, University of Maryland will be honored at a dinner sponsored by CDSPP Friday, August 3rd at the annual 2012 APA convention in August in Orlando Florida. In addition to work within his program and for CDSPP, Dr. Strein has been a strong representative for school psychology on the APA Commission on Accreditation. More information will be forthcoming concerning reservations for the dinner.

Please email all submissions for People & Places to Ara Schmitt.