Call for nominations

American Academy of School Psychology scholarships are available for doctoral students; apply by May 15, 2013.

A limited number of scholarships will be awarded by the American Academy of School Psychology to deserving doctoral students in school psychology in 2013. The scholarships are named in honor of two professionals who have contributed significantly to the AASP: Irwin Hyman and Nadine Lambert.

The scholarships will be in the amount of $1,000 each, and may be used by students to help defray the costs of tuition, books, etc. or to subsidize attendance at the convention of the American Psychological Association or the National Association of School Psychologists.

Since 2008 scholarships have been awarded annually outstanding doctoral students. The number of scholarships is based on the available funds. To date, this year's scholarships are funded by contributions from AASP Fellows, the Council of Directors of School Psychology Programs (CDSPP), Psychological Assessment Resources (PAR), the Woodcock- Munoz Foundation, and Multi-Health Systems (MHS).

Each scholarship applicant should submit three copies of:

  1. A letter of recommendation from his/her advisor,
  2. A graduate school transcript,
  3. A copy of his/her curriculum vitae,
  4. A letter detailing present and future professional interests in school psychology and indicating how the scholarship will be used, and
  5. Copies of convention papers or publications.

A committee consisting of three Academy Fellows will select scholarship recipients.

Awards will be announced/presented at the annual meeting of the AASP at the convention of the American Psychological Association in Hawai'i.

Applicants are required to submit all materials by mail to the AASP President at the address below by May 15, 2013.

Shelley Pelletier, PhD, ABPP
954 Middlesex Tpk., A2
Old Saybrook, CT 06475