Charles S. Gersoni Military Psychology Award


Sponsor: Division 19


The Charles S. Gersoni Military Psychology Award is for outstanding contributions to military psychology.

These contributions may be in the form of excellence in:

  • Research

  • Service

  • Product development

  • Administration

Any of these must clearly reflect advancement of the profession of military psychology, improved effectiveness of military psychology systems, or service on behalf of the welfare of military personnel.

Annual Deadline: May 30


Awardees may be individuals or a group of individuals whose contributions merit special recognition by Division 19.

How to Apply

Nominations should include:

  • A brief statement (300-500 words) that identifies the award and describes those aspects of the nominee’s work that support the nomination.

  • A resume of the nominee.

Please submit nominations to Sally Harvey, PhD.

Past Recipients

Walter E. Penk, PhD, ABPP, and Carl Castro, PhD

Col. James Stephenson, PsyD, USAF; Maj. Chad Morrow, PsyD, USAF; Craig Bryan, PsyD; Col. Mark Staal, PhD, USAF; Maj. Jeremy Haskell, PsyD, USAF

Michael D. Matthews, PhD

Armando Estrada, PhD

Peter Hancock, PhD

Carrie H. Kennedy (Individual), James Picano (Individual), Jay Goodwin (Group), Gary Packard (Group), Tatana Olson (Group)