Divison 19 Annual Awards — Call for Nominations

The Society for Military Psychology is soliciting nominations for (1) The Arthur W. Melton Early Achievement Award, which recognizes early career achievements in military psychology made within 5-10 years of entry into the field; (2) The Charles S. Gersoni Military Psychology Award, which recognizes excellence in military psychology in the areas of research, service, product development, and/or administration made by an individual and/or group; (3) The John C. Flanagan Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognizes career-long achievements in military psychology; (4) The Robert S. Nichols Award which recognizes excellence in service by uniformed clinical psychologists to military personnel and their families; (5) Julius E. Uhlaner Award which recognizes outstanding contributions in research on military selection and recruitment; and (6) The Robert M. Yerkes Award, which recognizes outstanding contributions to military psychology by a non-psychologist. Achievements in any of these areas must clearly reflect advancement of the profession of military psychology, improved effectiveness of military psychology systems, or service on behalf of the welfare of military personnel and their families.

A nomination package must include (1) a nomination letter describing the qualification of the nominee in no more than 2-3 pages; and (2) a current resume/vita of the nominee. Submit nominations to Tonia S. Heffner in PDF format no later than May 30, 2013, midnight (EST). Please list the name of the nominee and the award on the subject line of your email (e.g. Jane Smith, Robert M. Yerkes Award). Winners will be notified prior to June 30, 2013 and awards will be presented at the Division 19 Business Meeting at the 2013 APA Convention.