Committee Reports

Continuing Education Committee report

This committee focuses on professional development and providing military psychologists the opportunity to participate in high-quality continuing education programs

By Freddy Paniagua, PhD, ABPP

The Division Continuing Education Committee was created in the summer of 2010. This committee was originally chaired by Brad Johnson, PhD; other members included Carrie Kennedy, PhD, Freddy A. Paniagua, PhD, Randy Reese, PhD, and Morgan Sammons, PhD. The committee is currently co-chaired by Drs. Kennedy and Paniagua.

The main objectives of the CE Committee of Division 19 include:

  1. Develop high-quality CE opportunities in association with the American Psychological Association (APA) convention. During the 2012 APA convention in Orlando, Fla., the Division 19 scheduled a pre-convention workshop entitled “Providing Mental HealthCare in and After Combat: Challenges, Rewards, Risks, and Growth. Heidi S. Kraft, PhD, led this workshop. In addition, during the same meeting Division 19 scheduled several Continuing Education Sessions (CES). For the APA 2013 meeting in Honolulu, Division 19 submitted a pre-convention led by Melba C. Stetz, PhD, Raymond A. Folen, PhD, and Chelsea L. Sousa, MS, all from the Department of Psychology, Triple Army Medical Center, Honolulu. This workshop will discuss the use of virtual reality and biofeedback to improve behavioral health clinical research protocols with emphasis on the military context.

  2. Develop high-quality CE opportunities in association with APA-accredited providers of continuing education. This involves the development of partnership with existing providers of professional CE programs.

  3. Develop high-quality CE opportunities for psychologists who are deployed or serving in remote locations. This involves the development of a network of Division 19 psychologists with expertise in specific areas of military psychology and who are available to provide CE workshops to small groups of psychologists when they travel as part of their work.

Continuing Education Committee

  • John Ashburn

  • W. Brad Johnson

  • Carrie H. Kennedy

  • Freddy Paniagua

  • Randy Reese

  • Morgan Sammons