Outstanding Dissertation Award

The Outstanding Dissertation Award honors the best recent doctoral dissertation in psychopharmacology and substance abuse. Award winners will receive $250, an engraved plaque, and travel support for the recipient to attend and present an address.

Annual deadline: January 7


Students who completed a doctoral program during the prior two calendar years (e.g., from 2012 through 2013 to earn the 2014 award) are eligible for nomination. The nomination must be based on a completed dissertation in psychopharmacology or substance abuse.

How to Apply

Nominations must include:

  • A letter from the sponsor supporting the nomination

  • The nominee's resume or Curriculum Vitae

  • A copy of the dissertation on which the nomination is based

  • Any additional supporting documents

For any nominations, please forward all materials to:

Sharon Walsh 
Center on Drug and Alcohol Research
University of Kentucky
515 Oldham Court
Lexington, KY 40502

Past Recipients

2013:  Marci Mitchell
2012:  Ben Lewis
2011:  Cassandra D. Gipson and Kevin S. Murnane
2010:  Kelly Dunn
2009:  Darrick T. Balu
2008:  Jennifer L. Perry
2007:  Nicole Avena
2006:  William Stoops
2005:  Andrew Barrett
2004:  Joshua Lile
2003:  Stanislav (Rob) Vorel
2002:  Laura Juliano
2001:  James Grobe
2000:  Jillian Broadbear
1999:  Drake Morgan
1998:  Lisa Gerak
1997:  Keith Shelton
1996:  Michael Weed
1995:  Carol Paronis