Young Psychopharmacologist Award

The Young Psychopharmacologist Award honors a young scientist doing original, meritorious work in psychopharmacology and encourages excellence in research at the interface between the disciplines of pharmacology and psychology.

The winner will receive $500, an engraved plaque and travel support for the recipient to attend and present an address.

Annual deadline: January 7


Candidates must be nominated by a member or fellow of Division 28

Persons who are no more than five years past the date of receipt of the doctoral degree are eligible for consideration.

The nomination must be based on work in an area of psychopharmacology, behavioral pharmacology or substance abuse.

How to Apply

Nominations must include:

  • The nominee's resume or curriculum vitae

  • Selected reprints or manuscript(s) describing the research on which the nomination is based

  • A statement from the sponsor in support of the nomination.

For any nominations, please forward all materials to:

Sharon Walsh 
Center on Drug and Alcohol Research
University of Kentucky
515 Oldham Court
Lexington, KY 40502

Past Recipients

2013: Carmela Reichel
2012:  Adam Leventhal
2011:  Matthew W. Johnson
2010:  Ryan Vandrey
2009:  Jennifer L. Perry
2008:  William W. Stoops
2007:  Bill Fantegrossi
2006:  Stacey Sigmon
2005:  Cynthia Conklin
2004:  Wendy Lynch
2003:  Drake Morgan
2002:  M.C. Holden Ko
2001:  Scott Lane
2000:  Michael Brandt
1999:  Nancy Petry/Hendree Jones
1998:  Thomas Eissenberg
1997:  Craig Rush
1996:  Jenny Wiley
1995:  Jane Acri