E.R. Hilgard Best Graduate-Level Academic Thesis Award

This award is bestowed upon the author of a recent (i.e., completed within the last 2 years) outstanding and important dissertation.

Sponsor: Division 30


The recipient could be cited for applied or scientific work. The award winner receives a plaque and a $300 award. In the case of two people receiving the award in the same year, the winners split the cash award.

The winner is required to present their work at the APA convention within two years of receiving the award in order to receive the cash component of the award which is typically offered in the form of reimbursement for convention travel-related expenses. Ideally, the winner presents at the following year’s APA convention. The presentation is often in the format of an invited address or as part of an awards session.

Past Recipients

2016 : Michael B. Quant, PhD
2015: Vince Polito, PhD
2014: Michael Connors, PhD
2012: Ciara Christensen
2011: Lynette Hung
2000: Eric Wilmarth
1991: John Brentar