Division 35 Awards

The following awards and grants are sponsored by Division 35, either alone or in conjunction with other groups. The work for which the awards are given is typically relevant in some significant way to women's lives, or more generally, to the emerging psychological understanding of gender role influences on human behavior, broadly defined.

  • Annual Prize for Psychological Research on Women and Gender by Students
    The student research manuscript should focus on women's lives and issues, or more generally, on gender ideologies and behavior, from a feminist perspective. 

  • Carolyn Payton Early Career Award
    This award, sponsored by Division 35 Section I: Psychology of Black Women, recognizes the achievement of black women who are early career psychologists, specifically for published work addressing the concerns of black women and girls.

  • Carolyn Wood Sherif Award 
    The Carolyn Wood Sherif Award is presented annually to a senior individual for sustained and substantial contributions to the field of the psychology of women across research and scholarship, teaching and mentoring and professional leadership.

  • Corann Okorodudu Global Women's Advocacy Award
    This award seeks to honor junior or senior psychologists who have worked to advocate for women's and/or girls' mental health around the globe.

  • Florence L. Denmark Award for Contributions to Women and Aging
    The purpose of the Florence L. Denmark Award for Contributions to Women and Aging is to recognize scholarly or public policy accomplishments, or both, in the area of women and aging.

  • Geis Memorial Award
    This award offers $15,000 to fund dissertation research in the Psychology of Women by an advanced doctoral candidate.

  • Georgia Babladelis Best PWQ Paper Award
    This award recognizes the best paper published in Psychology of Women Quarterly as selected each year by PWQ's Editorial Board from the pool of all accepted, unpublished papers.

  • Heritage Award
    This award is presented annually to a senior individual who has made distinguished and influential contributions to the field of the psychology of women in one or more of the following areas: teaching/mentoring, scholarship/research, practice/advocacy.

  • Janet Hyde Graduate Student Research Grant
    These grants are awarded to doctoral psychology students to support feminist research on the psychology of women and gender. 

  • Laura Brown Award
    This award is given to a psychologist who has made outstanding contributions in advancing lesbian and bisexual women's psychology in the areas of scholarship, teaching, practice, and/or activism.

  • Mary Roth Walsh Teaching the Psychology of Women Award
    This award is designed to encourage junior faculty teaching the psychology of women or gender course and focuses particularly on teaching innovations.

  • Pioneer Award
    This award recognizes an Asian Pacific feminist who embraces the mission of Division 35 and Section 5 in her professional identity/work.

  • Psychology of Black Graduate Student Women Award
    To support graduate student research on the role of gender in the lives of Black women/girls.

  • Psychotherapy With Women Award
    Manuscripts on the broad topic of psychotherapy with women are eligible for this award. Research (quantitative and qualitative), clinical applications, clinical case studies and theoretical review articles are welcome.

  • Strickland–Daniel Mentoring Award
    This award recognizes the feminist mentoring of the award winner whose mentoring includes several components.

  • Student Scholar Hispanic Women/Latina Award
    The purpose of this award is to honor the scholarly contributions of a Section 3 student member who has conducted research and/or scholarly work that advances the psychology of Latinas/Hispanic women.

  • Sue Rosenberg Zalk Award for Distinguished Service to the Society for the Psychology of Women
    Recognizes the contributions of an individual who has served the Society for the Psychology of Women, American Psychological Association, in a variety of significant ways over a substantial period of time, as did Sue Rosenberg Zalk.

Award History Highlights

  • 2007: Corann Okrodudu International Women’s Advocacy Award is established

  • 2006: Jessica Henderson-Daniel awarded the first Bonnie Strickland Mentoring Award. The award is renamed the Strickland-Daniel Mentoring Award

  • 2004: Award for exemplary service on Lesbian and Bisexual Women's Issues given to Laura Brown, and renamed the Laura Brown Award

  • 1996: Hyde Graduate Student Research Grants established

  • 1993: Bequest from Florence Geis estate to establish the Florence Geis Memorial Award for Graduate Student Research

  • 1992:  First Heritage Awards

  • 1984: First Carolyn Wood Sherif Award presented to Rhoda Unger