Annual Prize for Psychological Research on Women and Gender by Students

This award is sponsored by Division 35 and the Association for Women in Psychology (AWP).

The student research manuscript should focus on women's lives and issues, or more generally, on gender ideologies and behavior, from a feminist perspective. A $250.00 prize will be awarded to the best paper. First Prize and Honorable Mention winners will be announced at the 2012 meeting of the American Psychological Association. The winners (First Prize and Honorable Mention) of the SPW/AWP Award for Student Psychological Research on Women and Gender receive a one-year free AWP membership. They are also invited to present their prize-winning paper at the 2013 AWP Conference.

Annual Deadline: April 15


Jointly-authored papers are eligible, but the first author must have been a student at the time the research was conducted, as indicated by a statement by the first author, in a cover letter accompanying the submission, specifying when and from what institution the first author obtained the degree, the name of the faculty who supervised the research, and the department of the supervising faculty. Entries should be of journal length and in APA style.  Eligible papers include unpublished manuscripts as well as papers that have been submitted or accepted for publication. Published or presented papers are also eligible as long as they have a date of 2011 or 2012. All papers should be submitted in manuscript form, not as pre-prints or prints with information about submission and publication status provided in the cover letter.

How to Apply

Submissions will be judged on feminist theoretical grounding, methodology, clarity, quality of writing, and the social importance of the research questions and findings for a psychology of women and gender. Research papers that address intersectionalities will be given higher consideration.

Please email a cover letter and attach a copy of the paper (in MS Word) to the award chair, NiCole T. Buchanan, PhD, by April 15, annually.

Past Recipients

2014: Haley Miles-McLean; Honorable Mention, Margo A. Gregor
2013: Christin P. Bowman; Honorable Mention, Kathryn Holland 
2012: Sarah J. Reed for project titled, "Identity and Agency: The Meaning and Value of Pregnancy for Young Black Lesbians"
           Honorable Mention: Megan R. Greeson for project titled, "Rape Survivors Agency within the Legal and Medical Systems"