Sue Rosenberg Zalk Award for Distinguished Service to the Society for the Psychology of Women

This award recognizes the contributions of an individual who has served the Society for the Psychology of Women, American Psychological Association, in a variety of significant ways over a substantial period of time, as did Sue Rosenberg Zalk. The Award will be presented at the 2015 APA convention and carries a $500 honorarium. 

At the time of her death in 2001, Sue Rosenberg Zalk, PhD, was book series editor. In the course of over 20 years of service to the division, Zalk was APA program chair and chaired committees and task forces on recruitment, fellows selection, awards, the Hyde Graduate Student Research Grant, mentoring, feminist submissions to mainstream journals, and the urban initiative, and was liaison to Div. 51 (Psychology of Men & Masculinity) and the Association for Psychological Science. She rarely missed an Executive Committee meeting and was forthright, insightful, strategic, and diplomatic in her comments. She also assisted other committee chairs with their responsibilities and was a mentor and friend to many SPW members. 

Deadline: April 1, 2015

How to Apply

To nominate a candidate, please send a letter to the 2015 committee (Asuncion Miteria Austria, Chair; Joan C. Chrisler; Susan Basow) that addresses the nominee's length of service to SPW, the variety and significance of her or his activities in SPW, and the candidate's contributions to SPW that have yet to be formally recognized. The strength of the nominating letter is important and may include input from up to three others beyond the nominator. 

Please append to this letter a list of positions held by the nominee in SPW, including the start and end date for each entry. Please submit a single, complete nominating letter for each candidate before April 1, 2014, to Asuncion Miteria Austria, PhD.

Past Recipients

2014:  Asuncion M. Austria, PhD
2013:  Joan Chrisler, PhD
2012:  Susan Basow  
2011:  Jacquelyn White
2010:  Janice D. Yoder
2009:  Karen Fraser Wyche
2008:  Margaret Madden
2007:  Lula Beatty
2006:  Natalie Porter
2005:  none
2004:  Pamela Reid
2003:  Martha Banks
2002:  Cheryl Travis