Section IV Programming at the APA Convention

Each year at the APA Annual Convention, Section IV presents the Laura Brown Award to an outstanding person in LBT women’s psychology. Past winners have included Laura Brown, Beverly Greene, Esther Rothblum, and Nancy Baker.

We have one hour of programming each year at APA. In 2010, we hosted a symposium on “Enhancing transgender inclusivity in psychological organizations, research, and practice”. This year at APA we are presenting a roundtable on “LGBT Faculty Experiences in Academia” on Friday, August 5, 8-8:50 a.m., Room 147B of the Washington Convention Center.

Beginning in 2011 we are sponsoring a student essay contest. Winners will receive $250 and an opportunity to present their work at the 2012 APA Convention. More details will be forthcoming.