Johanna K. Tabin Press Book Proposal Prize

Div. 39 and APA Books are delighted to announce that submissions are now being accepted for the sixth annual the Johanna K. Tabin/APA Books/Division 39/ Book Proposal Prize for a first book by a psychoanalytic author. The winner receives a $1,000 cash prize, certificate of recognition and guarantee of publication by APA Books. 

The aim of this prize is to encourage psychoanalytic writing by Div. 39 members who have yet to publish a psychoanalytic book. Winners must demonstrate a promise of contribution to psychoanalytic theory and practice, good writing, scholarly mastery of the area of the chosen topic, , and clinical and theoretical relevance. While some previously published material may be included, the proposed book should consist primarily of new work and promise to be an original and coherent monograph. Edited collections of previously published papers are not acceptable, nor are edited volumes of contributions by more than one author. Simultaneous submissions to other publishers will disqualify the entry.


Applicants must be members of Div. 39 and not have written a psychoanalytic book.

How To Apply

The proposal should consist of: 

  1. a cover letter to include the author's identifying and contact information.
  2. a full CV.
  3. a statement of sufficient length to describe the mission, scope, and potential contribution of the project to psychoanalysis.
  4. a table of contents.
  5. one, and only one, sample chapter.

Identifying information is to appear only on the cover letter and CV. If identifying information appears on any other part of the submission, the proposal may be disqualified. 

Submissions are accepted in hard copy only and must be in quintuplicate. Blind review evaluations are conducted by the Book Proposal Committee, the editor of APA Books, and an Honorary Judge. 

All submissions for the 2014 award must be submitted by Jan. 10, 2014, to:

Book Proposal Prize
Division of Psychoanalysis
2615 Amesbury Road
Winston Salem, NC 27103

Questions should be addressed to: Frank Summers, PhD, ABPP, Chair of the Johanna K. Tabin/APA Books/Division 39/Book Proposal Prize Committee.

Past Recipients

The Johanna K. Tabin/Division 39/APA Press Book Proposal Prize committee is pleased to announce the winner of the 2013 award, the authors receiving honorable mention and the book proposal titles. 

2013 Award Winner: Usha Tummala-Narra, PhD
Book Proposal: Psychoanalytic Theory and Cultural Competence in Psychotherapy 

2013 Honorable Mention: Jim Thiesen, PhD
Book Proposal: The Therapist's Use of Countertransference 

2013 Honorable Mention: Trisha Ready, PhD
Book Proposal: The Rhythm of Connection 

2009: Anthony Bram PhD: Psychological Testing that Matters: Creating a Road Map for Effective Treatment (published in 2014)

2008: Perrin Elisha, PhD: The Conscious Body: A Psychoanalytic Exploration of the Body in Psychotherapy (published in 2010)