Division News

Award deadline changed

Division 39 and APA Press announce that beginning next year the Johanna K. Tabin/Division 39 APA Book Proposal Prize will be awarded at the Division 39 Spring Meeting

Consequently, the deadline for submissions for the 2012 prize is December 31, 2011.

This is the fifth annual contest for a first book by a psychoanalytic author. The winner receives a $1000 cash prize, certificate of recognition, and guarantee of publication by the APA Press. The aim of this prize is to encourage psychoanalytic writing by Division 39 members who have yet to publish a psychoanalytic book. We look for good writing, originality, as well as clinical and scholarly relevance. While some previously published material may be included, the proposed book should consist primarily of new work and promise to be an original and coherent monograph. Edited collections of previously published papers are not acceptable, nor are edited volumes of contributions by more than one author. Simultaneous submissions to other publishers will disqualify the entry.

The proposal should consist of:

  1. a cover letter with the only mention of the author's identifying and contact information

  2. a full CV (with name deleted)

  3. a statement of the mission, scope, and potential contribution of the project to psychoanalysis; this statement should be complete enough that the reviewers can gain a good sense of the theme of the book and its potential contribution to the field

  4. table of contents

  5. one, and only one, sample chapter that represents the theme of the monograph

Submissions are accepted in hard copy only and must be in quintuplicate. Blind review evaluations are conducted by the Book Proposal Prize Committee and an Honorary Judge.

All submissions for the 2012 award must be submitted by December 31, 2011 to:

Book Prize Division of Psychoanalysis
2615 Amesbury Road
Winston Salem, NC 27103 

Questions should be addressed to:

Frank Summers, PhD, ABPP
Telephone: (312) 266-8230