Section II: Childhood and Adolescence

Members are child clinicians who practice psychoanalysis and psychoanalytic psychotherapy and who conduct research in the area of child psychoanalysis. A major goal is to increase, through the development of study groups, communications among section members.

Membership in Section II is open to members of APA, Div. 39, students and those in affiliated mental fields.

Section II Representative: Toni Heineman, DMH

Section Officers

  • President: Thomas Barrett, PhD

  • President-Elect: (Open)  

  • Past President: Norka T. Malberg, PsyD

  • Secretary: Jordan Bate

  • Treasurer: Nakia Hamlett, PhD

  • Membership Chair: Diane Ehrensaft, PhD, Jordan Bate

  • Communications Committee: Susan Goodman, LCSW, Virginia Shiller, PhD

  • Website Co-chairs:
    Sheryl Silverstein, PhD
    Patrick Szafran, PsyD
  • Members at Large:
    Seth Aronson, PsyD
    Jackie Gotthold, PhD
    Larry Rosenberg, PhD
    Virginia Shiller, PhD
    Miriam Steele, PhD

  • Representative to Div. 39: Norka Malberg, PsyD

Section Publications

Section Awards

Lifetime Service Award

Anni Bergman, PhD