Section VIII: Couple and Family Therapy and Psychoanalysis

Section VIII is dedicated to promoting the understanding and treatment of the psychological needs of couples and families, within a psychoanalytic framework. Our members seek to apply the theories and treatments of psychoanalysis to the problems encountered by families of every culture, ethnicity, sexual orientation, and religion.

We are also enlarging the scope and efficacy of psychoanalytic understanding by incorporating multiple treatment perspectives to fit the added complexity found when people are seen together. As part of the community of Division 39, we hope to encourage active dialogue with our colleagues and to promote a broad understanding of couple and family issues for those clinicians working with individuals. Many of our members work with the larger community, in various outreach activities that address psychological and other needs, while embracing a psychoanalytic perspective.

Our newly designed website includes summaries of the listserv discussions of clinical issues (for members only). The public part of the website has information about the section, an alphabetical and geographical listing of members, and a membership application.

Section VIII Representative: Antonia Halton, PhD

Section Publications

  • We have a members-only listserv, where we discuss clinical issues, give and get referrals throughout the country, and share information.

  • We publish a newsletter twice a year.

Section VIII Officers and Committee Chairs

  • President: Cindy Baum-Baicker, PhD (2014-15)

  • President-Elect: Deborah Wolozin, PhD  (2014-15)

  • Past President: Joyce Lowenstein, PhD

  • Founding President: Mary-Joan Gerson, PhD

  • Secretary: Noa Ashman, MSW (2015-17) 

  • Treasurer: Lee Futrovsky, PhD (2014-16) 

  • Representative to Division 39 Board: Maurine Kelly, PhD

Board of Representatives

  • Susan Abelson, PhD (2013-15)

  • Carl Bagnini, LICSW, BCD (2013-15)

  • Rachel Barbanel-Fried (2015-17)

  • Monique Bowen, PhD (2015-17)

  • Roberta Caplan, PhD (2015-17)

  • Phyllis Cohen, PsyD, (MA) (2013-15)

  • Shelly Goldklank, PhD (2014-16)

  • Shelley Nathans, PhD (2014-16)

Standing Committees

  • Finance: Lee Futrovsky, PhD

  • Nominations and Elections: Joyce Lowenstein, PhD

  • Program: Cindy Baum-Baicker, PhD

Other Committees

  • Education and Training: Roberta Caplan, PhD

  • Membership: Joyce Lowenstein, PhD

  • International Affiliations: Mary-Joan Gerson, PhD

  • Publications: Carolynn Maltas, PhD

  • Public Policy: Cindy Baum-Baicker, PhD

Other Responsibilities

  • Listmaster: Susan Shimmerlik, PhD 
  • Newsletter Editor: Heather MacIntosh, PhD
  • Webmaster: Susan Shimmerlik, PhD