2017 President: Eve Brank

Eve M. Brank, JD, PhDEve M. Brank, JD, PhD, is an associate professor of psychology and courtesy professor of law at the University of Nebraska, Lincoln. She is also the director of the Center for Children, Families and the Law, and the Scientific Resources for the Law faculty advisor. She received her JD and PhD (Social Psychology) from the University of Nebraska, Lincoln. Her research has been funded by local and federal agencies and focuses primarily on the way the law intervenes in family and personal decision making. In the family context, she has focused on the role of blame and responsibility in parental liability and elder caregiving. In the personal context, she has focused on Fourth Amendment privacy rights and psychological factors that contribute to a person’s willingness to consent to a police search. Brank is the co-editor for Court Review and has served as a reviewer for more than 25 journals and book publishers. In addition to serving AP-LS as member-at-large, secretary and treasurer, she was the co-chair of the APA’s Committee on Legal Issues. Brank is a member of the APA Leadership Institute for Women in Psychology.

President-Elect: Kevin S. Douglas

Kevin S. Douglas JD, PhDKevin S. Douglas, LLB, PhD, is professor of psychology and associate chair, department of psychology, law and forensic psychology program, Simon Fraser University. He is also a guest professor of applied criminology at Mid-Sweden University, and a senior research advisor at the University of Oslo. Douglas received his law degree in 2000 from the University of British Columbia, and his PhD in clinical (forensic) psychology from Simon Fraser University in 2002. He was the recipient of the Saleem Shah Award for Early Career Excellence in Psychology and Law (2005), awarded jointly by the American Psychology-Law Society (AP-LS) and the American Academy of Forensic Psychology. His research interests include violence risk assessment and management; the association between mental and personality disorders and violence; and dynamic risk factors. He is co-author of the Historical-Clinical-Risk Management-20 (HCR-20) violence risk assessment measure, which has been translated into 20 languages and is used broadly around the world. He is lead author on the latest (third) revision of the HCR-20, published in 2013. Douglas has authored over 160 journal articles, books or book chapters. He has held executive positions with AP-LS (member at large), APA (Committee on Legal Issues), and the International Association of Forensic Mental Health Services (director, treasurer).

2016 Past President: David DeMatteo

David DeMatteo, JD, PhD, ABPP (Forensic)David DeMatteo, JD, PhD, ABPP (Forensic), is an associate professor of psychology and law at Drexel University, where he is also director of the JD/PhD Program in law and psychology. He received his JD from Villanova Law School and his PhD in clinical psychology from MCP Hahnemann University. His research focuses on psychopathy, forensic mental health assessment, offender diversion and drug-involved criminal offenders, and his research has been funded by several federal and state agencies. He has published more than 85 articles and book chapters and several books in these and related areas. He is an associate editor for Law and Human Behavior, on the editorial boards of several journals and a reviewer for more than 25 scientific journals. In addition to serving two terms as an APA Council Representative for AP-LS, he was chair of APA’s Committee on Legal Issues. DeMatteo is a fellow of APA and board certified in forensic psychology by the American Board of Professional Psychology.

Division Leadership