Diversity Award

The Diversity Award started in 2012 and is awarded every year. These psychologists have made significant contributions to group psychology practice, research, service, and/or mentoring, with a focus on promoting understanding and respect for diversity.  The individual selected based on these nominations is then honored as an award recipient at the Annual APA Convention in August.  

Deadline: July 1

Eligibility and Nominations

Nominations materials should include and be limited to the following:

  1. Names, phone numbers, program and institutional affiliations, APA divisional membership of yourself (the endorser) and of your nominee. 

  2. A brief letter highlighting your nominee’s contributions in promoting understanding and respect for diversity in group psychology practice, research, service and/or mentoring.

  3. The nominee's vita.

Self-nominations are accepted. Nominations are reviewed by the Diversity Committee and voted on by the board of directors at its midwinter meeting. Each award recipient will be honored at the Annual APA Convention with an engraved plaque.

How to Apply

Please consolidate nomination materials into one document and email it to the Diversity Committee Chair Jeanne Steffen, PhD, by July 1.


2014: Janice DeLucia-Waack, PhD
2013: Clayton P. Alderfer, PhD
2012: Melba Vasquez, PhD