Student Poster Awards

The Society of Group Psychology and Group Psychotherapy (APA Division 49) offers up to three awards for students presenting posters at the Annual APA Convention. These awards are $300, $200, $100 and are presented for the best posters that contribute to the mission and goals for the Society. Posters will be judged on their applicability to the division's mission and goals, the quality of the material and its presentation. Eligible students must be currently enrolled in a mental health professional preparation program.

Past Recipients

  • First Prize:
    Delia Avelar, MA
    "A Culturally Responsive Program to Decrease Depressive Symptoms for Immigrant Latina Women"
  • Second Prize:
    Alia R. Warner, EdS, MS
    "Mindfulness Based Stress Reduction for Female Inmates: A Group Curriculum" 
    Co Author: Sabrina M. Di Lonardo, EdS, MS
  • Third Prize:
    Michelle Sobon, BA
    "Assessing Change Patterns of the Overly Accommodating Subtype Within Focused Brief Group Therapy" 
    Co Author: Martyn Whittingham, PhD