President's Message

Lee Gillis, PhDWelcome to the Society of Group Psychology and Group Psychotherapy's website. Thanks for visiting and come back often to stay abreast of featured articles from our newsletter, up-to-date APA Annual Convention program information or to contact one of the officers or committee members.

The society is committed to the practice, research and education of group psychologists and group psychotherapists. As psychologists, we offer the field a solid research base on group work. This website attempts to keep an ongoing "feed" of current research on group psychology and group psychotherapy on the front page.

Get Involved

The Society of Group Psychology and Group Psychotherapy was established in 1991 as Division 49 of the American Psychological Association. The purpose of the Society is to promote the development and advancement of the field of group psychology and the modality of group psychotherapy through research, teaching and education, and clinical practice.

As Don Forsyth, Past-President of the Society wrote, “We champion the value of groups and all their uses: in making decisions and solving problems, as sources of solace in a far too impersonal world, as networks that link together individuals laboring on shared tasks, as the means to provide therapeutic experiences for members suffering from psychological dysfunction, and so on. And, true to our basic perspective, we do not rely on the work of single individuals to accomplish our goals. Instead, the division is a nexus of any number of groups whose members contribute their time, energy, and talents to the division.” (TGP, 2008, Vol. 18, No. 1).

We invite you to learn more about our Society and to consider joining. It is not necessary to be a psychologist or a member of APA to join the Society. Once you become a member, there are many ways to get involved.


New Div. 49 Fellows

We are pleased to announce four new fellows: Rebecca MacNair-Semands, Craig Parks, Scott Tindale and Janice Kelly. We also have two current fellows joining our society: Mary Alvord and Verlin Hinsz.

2014 Diversity Award Winner

Congratulations to Janice DeLucia-Waack, PhD, the 2014 Diversity Award winner.

Election Results
We thank all who ran for office in the society. The following began their terms on Jan. 1, 2015. Congratulations to the new board members.

Craig T. Parks, PhDCraig D. Parks, PhD

Amy G. Nitza, PhDAmy G. Nitza, PhD

Jill D. Paquin, PhDJill D. Paquin, PhD
member at large

Rosamond J. Smith, MARosamond J. Smith, MS
student representative