Join one of 11 society committees to promote the development and advancement of the field of group psychology and the modality of group psychotherapy through research, teaching and education, and clinical practice and to further the general objectives of the APA.

Standing Committees

Membership Committee

This committee works to identify the needs of members and institute programs designed to meet those needs. The committee works closely with APA on member services, making certain that those who join the society receive the benefits of membership (e.g., subscriptions, membership on the listserv, etc.). The primary initiative of this group, at this time, is building up membership, in general, with a focus on drawing students and early career psychologists to the society.
Chair:  Leann Diederich (Jan. 1, 2014 – Dec. 31, 2016) 

The Diversity Committee

This committee was founded officially in 2007 to promote the inclusion and visibility of underrepresented minorities in the society. The committee is also charged with attracting, fostering, and managing diversity in membership and activities of the society, and developing and recommending policies and programs designed to educate members of the division in this area in their practice, research and training.
Chair: Jeanne Steffen (Jan. 1, 2014 – Dec. 31, 2016)  
Members: Eric Chen, Maria Riva, Cheri Marmarosh, Joe Miles, Lee Gillis, Brittany White, Joel Miller, and Jennilee Fuertes


  • Subcommittee on Public Interest, Public Education, and Social Justice

  • International Relations Representative
    Rex Stockton

  • Women in Psychology Network Representative
    Jill Paquin

The Education and Training Committee

The committee monitors, promotes, and enhances education and training in group psychology, group psychotherapy and continuing education. This committee's members serve as liaisons to a number of other educational bodies (ABPP, CRSPP, CoA, etc.), as well as national level meetings focused on education. This committee's primary initiative, at this time, is the preparation of the society application to CRSPPP Board.
Chair: Cheri Marmarosh (Jan. 1, 2014 – Dec. 31, 2016)


  • Subcommittee on Diplomate and Credentials
    Sally Barlow

  • Representative to the Educational Directorate
    Cheri Marmarosh

The Committee on Fellows

This committee seeks members of the division who have met the society's standards for Fellow status and assists these individuals in the preparation of the materials needed for certificate of that status by APA.
Chair: Gary Burlingame (Jan. 1, 2014 – Dec. 31, 2016) 
Members:  Andy Horne

The Committee on Nominations and Elections

Chair: Maria Riva 

The Program Committee

Chair: Jill Paquin, Norah Slone and Joe Miles 

The Committee on Awards

Chair: Dennis Kivlighan 

The Finance Committee

Chair: Amy Nitza (Jan. 1, 2015 - Dec. 31, 2017) 
Members: Craig Parks, Lee Gillis and Dennis Kivlighan 

The Publications Committee

Chair: Jennifer Alonso, (Jan. 1, 2014 – Dec. 31, 2016) 
Email List Editor:  Lee Gillis and Joe Miles
Journal Editor: David Marcus
Newsletter Editor: Tom Treadwell
Web Editor: Jennifer Alonso
Social Media Coordinator: Martha Morris

The Development Committee

Chair: Vacant 

The Student Committee

Student Representative: Rosamond Smith (Jan. 1, 2015-Dec. 31, 2016)

Foundation Committee

Chair:  Jean Keim
Members: Dennis Kivlighan, Amy Nitza, Jill Paquin and Rex Stockton

Other Committees

Advancement of Professional Practice

Leann Diederich


Richard Moreland

Coalition for Psychology in Schools and Education

Karin Hodges

Early Career Professionals Task Force

Co-chairs: Leann Diederich and Misha Bogomaz
Members: Jennifer Alonso, Rachelle Rene and Barbara Greenspan

Federal Advocacy Coordinator
Lee Gillis
Group Specialty Council
Chair: Nina Brown
Members: Eleanor Counselman, Sally Barlow, Misha Bogomaz, Loretta Braxton, Andy Eig, Joel Frost, Josh Gross, Cheri Marmarosh, Kathy Ulman, Martyn Whittingham and Robert Gleave