Distinguished Early Career Contributions in Qualitative Inquiry Award


Sponsor: Division 5


This award recognizes an early career individual who has made outstanding contributions to qualitative research methods. The contribution may be in academic, clinical, government, industry or other settings.

Award recipients attending the APA convention will receive the following:
  • An invitation to present at the subsequent APA convention (length varies by award).
  • An honorary one-year membership to Div. 5.
  • An awards plaque and a place in history.

Questions about the awards, nominations and the review process can be addressed to Deborah Bandalos. The outcome of the review process will be announced by March 15, 2018.


Neither the nominator nor the nominee need be a current or former member of either APA or Div. 5. Both self-nominations and nominations by others will be considered. To be eligible for the 2018 award, the nominee’s dissertation must have been completed by 2009 or later.

How to Apply

Nomination materials should include:

  1. A nomination letter and two additional letters of support that describe the nominee’s major contributions. The letter should comment on the number and quality of publications; the impact of the nominee’s contributions as evidenced by citations, grants, leadership roles, policy involvement, and/or translation of theory to practice; and the nominee’s promise for future contributions to qualitative research methods.
  2. The nominee’s current curriculum vitae.
  3. A completed nomination form (PDF, 7.5KB) by the nominator. Please send all requested nomination materials to Deborah Bandalos by Dec. 1, 2017.
Past Recipients

Valerie A. Futch Ehrlich