Wright Ross Salk Award for Distinguished Service in Pediatric Psychology

In recognition of the early founders of pediatric psychology, this award honors outstanding service contributions to the Society of Pediatric Psychology or to the field of pediatric psychology generally. Examples of significant contributions include:

  • Leadership in SPP
  • Public or political advocacy or leadership
  • Significant and extensive prevention or intervention program development, implementations and dissemination
  • Development and implementation of significant and influential service or training models
  • Professional leadership in other professional or public organizations that benefit the field of pediatric psychology
  • Substantial influential production of clinically oriented scholarship such as case studies and literature reviews

The recipient may be invited to give an award presentation at SPP's annual conference.

Annual deadline: Dec. 1


Nominees must be current members of Div. 54. The award is not given in recognition of those usual or expected contributions to SPP provided by its elected officials. However, it can be given to a previous executive committee member to recognize contributions to the organization that are substantially beyond those expected.

Self-nominations will not be considered since this award represents recognition of service contributions by one’s peers.

How to Apply

Past Recipients

2014: Sharon Berry, PhD
2013: David J. Bearison
2011: Edward Christophersen
2010: Lewis Lipsitt
2009: Terry Stancin
2008: Glen P. Aylward
2006: Gary Walco
2005: Dennis Harper
2004: Conway Saylor
2003: Danny Armstrong
2002: Jan Wallander
2001: Dennis Russo
2000: William Rae