On The Student Front

2012 Division 54 student award winners

Meet the winners of the C. Eugene Walker Education Award in Pediatric Psychology and SPP Student Travel Awards

C. Eugene Walker Education Award in Pediatric Psychology

Yelena WuThe winner of the C. Eugene Walker Education Award in Pediatric Paychology is Yelena Wu.

Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center Title: "Dissemination of Pediatric Medical Regimen Adherence Assessment and Intervention Strategies: Translating Research into Clinical Practice"


SPP Student Travel Awards

Melissa Cousino Stephanie Hullmann Kristen Long

Melissa Cousino
Case Western University


Stephanie Hullmann
Oklahoma State University

Kristen Long
Brown University

Cathleen Odar Rachelle Ramsey Jennifer Rohan

Cathleen Odar
University of Kansas


Rachelle Ramsey
Oklahoma State University


Jennifer Rohan
University of Cincinnati


Katherine Salamon Marilyn Sampilo

Katherine Salamon
Kennedy Krieger Institute

Marilyn Sampilo
University of Kansas


APA Student Poster Awards

Awards are available for SPP student members who are first author of a poster to be presented at the APA Convention Division 54 poster session. To apply, forward final version to Paul Robins, PhD by July 15, 2012.

Student Research Grants and Awards

  • The Marion & Donald Routh Student Research Grant
    Division 54 has established this annual research scholar grant program for student members of the Society. Research proposals should address areas consistent with the field of pediatric psychology. Topic examples might include relationships between psychological and physical well-being of children and adolescents, including behavioral and emotional components of disease and treatment, the role of pediatric psychology in pediatric medical settings, or the promotion of health and the prevention of illness among children and youth. Funding is available up to $1,000.

  • Lizette Peterson-Homer Injury Prevention Grant
    This grant, sponsored jointly by Division 54 and the American Psychological Foundation (APF), is open to students and faculty to support clinical research related to the prevention of injuries in children and adolescents. For more information, visit www.apa. org/apf/. Funding is available up to $5,000. SPP Student Research Award Competition Division 54 announces its annual Student Research Competition to encourage and reward quality research on issues related to pediatric psychology and health care of children. All of the research work must have been completed while the candidate was a student. The student must also be the primary (first) author. The award winner will receive a $500 award.
  • SPP/CDC Injury Prevention Award
    Division 54 and CDC's National Center for Injury Prevention and Control jointly announce a Student Research Competition to encourage and reward quality research on issues related to unintentional injury prevention in children and adolescents. An award of $1,000 will be made to the winner of the competition, contingent upon funding. In addition, the individual selected will be named a SPP/CDC Injury Prevention Fellow.

Application deadline is October 1, 2012

Email single-document applications to Paul Robins, PhD. Questions? Telephone (215) 590-7594