Urie Bronfenbrenner Award for Lifetime Contribution to Developmental Psychology in the Service of Science and Society

This award recognizes an individual who over a lifetime career has contributed to the science of developmental psychology and who has also worked to apply developmental psychology to society.


Sponsor: Division 7


The Bronfenbrenner award is for an individual whose work has, over a lifetime career, contributed not only to the science of developmental psychology, and who has also worked to the benefit of the application of developmental psychology to society. The individual's contributions may have been made through advocacy, direct service, influencing public policy or education, or through any other routes that enable scientific developmental psychology to better the condition of children and families.

Award winners will be invited to address the following year's APA Annual Convention, during which the awards will be presented by the membership of Div. 7 of APA.

How to Apply

The annual deadline is March 15.

Nominations should include a vita of the person being nominated.

Please email nominations to:

Suniya Luthar 
Department of Psychology
Arizona State University
Tempe, AZ 85287-1104

Past Recipients

2018: Margaret Beale Spencer and Ross A. Thompson
Mark Cummings
Mark Greenberg
2015: Michael Cole
: Adele Diamond and Ann Masten
2013: Richard Lerner
2012: Jacquelynne Eccles
2011: Kathryn Hirsh-Pasek and Roberta Golinkoff
2010: Patricia Greenfield
2009: Michael Lewis
2008: Jerry Patterson, Gail Goodman
2007: Jay Belsky
2006: Dante Cicchetti
2005: Michael Rutter
2004: Lewis Lipsitt
2003: Laurence Steinberg
2002: Steve Ceci
2001: Jeanne Brooks-Gunn
2000: Sheldon White
1999: Aletha Huston
1998: Edward Zigler
1997: Harold Stevenson
1996: Urie Bronfenbrenner