skip to main content

Division 18 History

Established in 1946, Div. 18 was one of APA’s first divisions. With a focus on advocating for psychology in public service settings, such as recruitment, pay, and career advancement, many psychologists working in the public sector have called Div. 18 their home in APA.

  • Division 18 celebrated its 75th anniversary with a special webinar presented by former Div. 18 historian, Dr. Rodney Baker. 

View the recording

  • Interviews with past presidents: In honor of our 75th anniversary, former presidents of Div. 18 were interviewed on our division’s podcast Public Service Psychology Now:
  • 2018–2019 Nadine Kaslow, PhD, ABPP
  • 2017–2018 Linda Richardson, PhD
  • 2016–2017 Shirley M. Glynn, PhD
  • 2015–2016 Timothy P. Carmody, PhD
  • 2014–2015 Femina Varghese, PhD
  • 2013–2014 Anne Klee, PhD
  • 2011–2012 Linda P. Bodie, PsyD
  • 2010–2011 Steven C. Norton, PhD
  • 2009–2010 Robert Morgan, PhD
  • 2008–2009 Timothy J. Lawler, PhD
  • 2005–2006 Dolly C. Sadow, PhD
  • 2003–2004 Robert D. Kerns, PhD
  • 1999–2000 Joel A. Dvoskin, PhD
  • 1989–1990 Rodney R. Baker, PhD

Learn More About Our Rich History

Baker, R. R. (2013). The history of the Division of Psychologists in Public Service (1946–2006). Psychological Services, 10(3), 353-358.


For inquiries regarding Div. 18’s history, contact Timothy Carmody, PhD

Last updated: September 2021Date created: June 2021