In this issue

Past president's column

Announcing new division officers and award winners

By Jacqueline Remondet Wall, PhD

By the time that you read this column, I will likely have completed my term in office. I must say that having had the opportunity to serve the division the last three years has been an honor. During this time, I have been able to watch the division continue to grow, both in membership and in the value it offers to those in public sector psychology. Through the capable leadership of Linda Bodie, PsyD, Anne Klee, PhD, and Femina Varghese, PhD, we have many new initiatives and continued practices that provide value to our colleagues. These include webinars and face-to-face educational offerings through the convention, pre-convention conferences and the fall conference. We've continued to improve the newsletter and Web-based communications. In addition, our journal, Psychological Services, continues to publish state-of-the-art manuscripts emphasizing all of the work done by psychologists in public sector settings. We've been able to support the outstanding achievements of those in Div. 18, by nominating colleagues for fellow status in the APA, nominating members for APA awards and APA committee membership. Plus, we have supported students and early career psychologists through membership benefits and career development activities. Lastly, there are new activities going on in many of the sections that include communications, education and networking. The changes and people involved are too numerous to mention in this column, but in sum the efforts should contribute a sense of pride and all involved should be thanked.

In continuing the role of the past-president, I've been responsible for generating nominees for elections and facilitating the award process for the division. We held elections in May 2014 for the offices of president-elect and member at large, education cluster. Appreciation is extended to all who put their names forward.

Please welcome our incoming Div. 18 officers for 2014-15:

  • President-elect — Tim Carmody, PhD
  • Member at large, education cluster chair — Erica Fitzgerald, PhD

A special thanks is offered to those who served in 2013-14.

In addition to officers within the division, we held section elections for the Serious Mental Illness / Severe Emotional Disturbance (SMI/SED) and the Community and State Hospital (CSH) sections. Again, thanks to those who agreed to candidacy for the election and thanks to those who will now serve. Please welcome:

SMI/SED Section

  • Chair — Marcia Hunt, PhD
  • Secretary — Meaghan Leddy, PhD
  • Treasurer — Sandy Resnick, PhD

CSH Section

  • Chair — Will Newbill, PhD
  • Secretary/Treasurer — Jennifer Snyder, PhD

We have members who've been selected for division awards. Congratulations to our 2014 award winners:

Harold M. Hildreth Award
Joel Dvoskin, PhD, ABPP

Michael S. Neale Award
Mary Jansen, PhD

Distinguished Career Award
Mary Schohn, PhD

Early Career Achievement Award
Erica Fitzgerald, PhD

The Peter J. N. Linnerooth National Service Award
Tim Hoyt, PhD

Outstanding Student Award
Samantha Yard, MS

Outstanding Student Award
Honorable Mention, Kendra Anderson, MS

Outstanding Student Award
Certificate of Recognition

  • Jessica Combs, MS
  • Debra Fan, MS
  • Antonia “Nina” Farmer, MA
  • Keith Jennings, MA
  • Brendan McDonald, MA
  • Ronald Simpson, BS
  • Cindy Ross, MS
  • Joanna Sells, BA
  • Kiara Vogel, MA, MS
  • Amy White, MA

If you are in Washington , D.C., for the convention, please join us at the business meeting and social hour (Aug. 9, 4-6 p.m. in the Independence Salons B and C at the Marriott Marquis Washington Hotel) to congratulate our award winners and newly elected officers.