Div. 28 Awards

Div. 28 awards: Call for nominations

Nominations for Div. 28 awards are due Jan. 15, 2019.
By Catherine Stanger, PhD

Nominations are requested for the 2019 MED Associates Brady-Schuster Award, Outstanding Dissertation Award and the Young Psychopharmacologist Award. These awards will be given at the 2019 APA convention in Chicago. Please take some time over the next weeks to identify qualified nominees and submit nomination materials.

Candidates must be nominated by a member or fellow of Div. 28.  It is preferred but not required that nominees be a member of Div. 28 and APA. Emailed materials may be sent to Catherine Stanger (please put "Division 28 Nomination" in the subject line on all emails). Any hard copy materials should be sent to: Catherine Stanger, 8 Orchard Hill Lane, Hanover, NH 03755. Materials must be received no later than Jan. 15, 2019.

The MED-Associates Brady Schuster Award honors a mid-career or senior scientist (at least 15 years after doctoral degree) who conducts outstanding research underscoring the fundamental importance of behavioral science to psychopharmacology or substance abuse. The award includes $500, an engraved plaque, and travel support for the recipient to attend the meeting.

The  Young Psychopharmacologist Award honors a young scientist conducting original, meritorious work in psychopharmacology and encourages excellence in research at the interface between the disciplines of pharmacology and psychology. The award includes $500, an engraved plaque and travel support for the recipient to attend.  

The Outstanding Dissertation Award honors the best doctoral dissertation in psychopharmacology and substance abuse.  The award includes $250, an engraved plaque and travel support for the recipient to attend the meeting. 

All awardees are invited to give an address during a special Div. 28 session at the conference.

Please see the Div. 28 awards page for more information about current award winners, past award recipients and detailed information about each award.