E.R. Hilgard Best Graduate-Level Academic Thesis Award

The award is bestowed upon the author an outstanding and important dissertation. The dissertation should have been completed within two years of the nomination of the award.

Sponsor: Division 30


The recipient could be cited for applied or scientific work. The award includes a small honorarium and a plaque.

The winner is required to present their work at the APA convention within two years of receiving the award in order to receive the cash component of the award, which is typically offered in the form of reimbursement for convention travel-related expenses. Ideally, the winner presents at the following year’s APA Convention. The presentation is often in the format of an invited address or as part of an awards session.

How to Apply

A summary of the dissertation (e.g., suggested maximum of 20-25 double spaced pages, excluding tables, figures, and references) should be sent to the awards chair by the deadline posted in the call. A letter of support from the dissertation advisor, citing the importance of the work, may accompany the application. These materials will be shared with members of the Awards Committee.

Unlike the convention paper awards, this award is determined in the Fall so that winners can be invited to present at the next APA Convention.

This award does not have to be granted every year.

Past Recipients

2019: No award given
2018: No award given
2017: Samantha O. Munson 
2016: Michael B. Quant, PhD
2015: Vince Polito, PhD
2014: Michael Connors, PhD
2012: Ciara Christensen
2011: Lynette Hung
2000: Eric Wilmarth
1996: Guy H. Montgomery, PhD
1991: John Brentar

Date created: 2014