Diversity Leadership Development Training Program Fund

The primary purpose of the Diversity Leadership Development Training Program Fund is to provide leadership development training with the goal of assisting diversity delegates advance into leadership positions within their SPTA and APA.


Sponsor: Division 31


The Diversity Leadership Development Training Program Fund was established through the initiative of Dr. Jennifer Kelly, a past president of Div. 31. It was initiated, fostered, and supported (by fundraising and personal contributions) by Kelly. The primary purpose of the fund is to provide leadership development training with the goal of assisting diversity delegates advance into leadership positions within their SPTA and APA. The goals of the leadership development workshop are to:

  1. Explore leadership styles and impact of behavioral style on others.

  2. Provide knowledge/information needed to facilitate movement into leadership positions within the SPTA.

  3. Address readiness/confidence in moving into leadership positions.

  4. Address the manner in which being a minority fits into this context.

Kelly has obtained long-term funding from CEMRRAT. Div. 31 will continue to be the home of this successful training program. Many of its participants have advanced in leadership positions in their STPAs and APA since their participation in the program. The workshop will occur every other year, the day prior to the State Leadership Conference (SLC).


Applicants for diversity delegates at the SLC, as well as those who will be funded by their SPTA, are invited to apply for the leadership development workshop. Preference will be given to those individuals enthusiastic about moving into SPTA governance and have not yet held a high-level elected office in their SPTA. Please note that application for this workshop does not interfere with participation as a diversity delegate at the SLC.

How to Apply

The executive director of the SPTA should submit the following information about the candidate:

  • A current curriculum vitae.

  • A statement of interest describing the candidate’s participation in leadership within the SPTA and/or interest in moving into governance of the SPTA.

Proposals must be in Microsoft Word or PDF format.

Submission Deadlines:  The deadline for the award is 4:30 p.m. E.T. on November 1. Please send the proposals to Dr. Jennifer Kelly.

Award:  Awards for complete reimbursement of travel costs to the SLC will be granted every other year. Awards will be announced in January of the year funding would be provided. Awards are intended to be used to support or assist applicants in covering expenses related to their travel.

Duties:  Those selected to participate in the workshop are expected to provide annual updates about how they have applied their skills learned at SLC. They are also expected to write an article about the experience and outcomes. The article will be posted at the Division 31 website. The annual reports and article must be submitted to the chair of the Diversity Task Force of Division 31.

Past Recipients


  • Gary Carrington, PhD (Ohio)

  • Linda Daniels, PsyD (Massachusetts)

  • Lucinda DeGrange, PhD (Louisiana)

  • Jessica Floyd, PsyD (Maryland)

  • Susanne Francis, PsyD (Illinois)

  • Willie Garrett, EdD (Minnesota)

  • Nekeshia Hammond, PsyD (Florida)

  • Le Ondra Clark Harvey, PhD (California)

  • Charmain Jackman, PhD (Massachusetts)

  • Johanna Kang, MA (Nevada)

  • Anatasia Kim, PhD (California)

  • Alfonso Mercado, PhD (Texas)

  • Christi Moore, PhD (Missouri)

  • Ruddy Taylor, PhD (Alaska)

  • Ann Williams, PhD (North Carolina) 


  • Khiela J. Holmes, PhD (Arkansas)

  • Crystal Joy, PsyD (Colorado)

  • Tamara McKay, PhD (Michigan)

  • Mahsaw “Elicia” Nademin, PhD (Arizona)

  • Adriana Ortega, PhD (North Carolina)

  • Martin R. Pierre, PhD (Massachusetts)

  • Anu Raj, PsyD (New York)

  • Keisha S. Ross, PhD (Missouri)

  • Karmon D. Sears, PsyD (Florida)

  • Takako Suzuki, PhD (Pennsylvania)

  • Christina S. Wilson, PhD (West Virginia)


  • Rehman Abdulrehman, PhD (Manitoba)

  • Karen Cone-Uemura, PhD (Utah)

  • Carrie Crownover, PhD (Kansas)

  • Edna Esnil, PsyD (California)

  • Patricia Griffen, PhD (Arkansas)

  • Mikaru Lasher, PhD (Connecticut)

  • Hengameh Maroufi, PhD (Nevada)

  • Fabiana Wallis, PhD (Oregon)


  • Phyllis Bolling, PhD (New Jersey)

  • Travis Colwell, PhD (North Carolina)

  • Michi Fu, PhD (California)

  • Kamieka Gabriel, PhD (Georgia)

  • Eleanor Gil-Kashiwabara, PsyD (Oregon)

  • Mabel Lam, PhD (Massachusetts)

  • Dinelia Rosa, PhD (New York)

  • Erica Stovall White, PhD (Ohio)