In this issue

Heiser Award Winners Announced for 2017

Honoring those who advanced psychology by legislation or regulation.

By Thomas J. DeMaio, PhD

Div. 31 administers the Karl F. Heiser APA Presidential Award for Advocacy. This award honors psychologists who have given their time and succeeded in making legislative or regulatory changes that advanced the profession of psychology. The selection committee, appointed by APA President Tony Puente, recently released the names of the six 2017 Heiser Award recipients:

  • Sue Farber, PhD, and Page Haviland, PhD, were nominated by the National Register of Health Psychologists and selected for their work obtaining prescriptive privileges in Idaho.
  • Sean Samuels, PsyD, was nominated by the Indiana Psychological Association (IPA) for his efforts to protect the full scope of practice by psychologists.
  • Peter Oppenheimer, PhD, was nominated by the Rhode Island Psychological Association (RIPA) for successfully defeating an effort to eliminate all non-prescribing boards, including the Rhode Island psychology board.
  • John Averitt, PhD, was nominated by the Tennessee Psychological Association (TPA) for working to pass legislation establishing the doctoral degree as the entry requirement for independent practice.
  • Laura Knudtson, PhD, was nominated by the Colorado Psychological Association (CPA) for her delicate stewardship of a bill to establish continuing education requirements.
  • Scott Fields, PhD, was nominated by the West Virginia Psychological Association (WVPA) for his critical legislative efforts to change the sequence of training leading to licensure.

These psychologists will be awarded their Heisers by President Puente and Div. 31 President Linda Knauss at an APA Convention ceremony in August. The award presentations will take place Saturday, Aug. 5, in the Mount Vernon Square Room of the Marriott Marquis Hotel at 9 a.m. All are welcome to attend.