In this issue

Four Heiser Award recipients named for 2018

Congratulations to 2018 winners.

By Thomas J. DeMaio, PhD

Thoms J. DeMaio, PhD

Four Karl F. Heiser Presidential Awards for Advocacy will be given at APA Convention this August in San Francisco. The awards, which are administered by Div. 31, will be presented by Div.31 President Lindsey Buckman and APA President Jessica Henderson Daniel on Saturday morning.

The four awardees are from across the country:

  • Bob Bohanske, PhD, was nominated by the Arizona Psychological Association for his years of service on the Arizona Board of Psychologist Examiners and for his role in the development of PsyPact, an agreement facilitating interstate service provision.
  • Chuck Hollister, PhD, was nominated by the Missouri Psychological Association for his involvement in the passage of numerous bills shaping the definition of psychological services in Missouri.
  • From Minnesota, Robin McLeod, PhD, was nominated for her work to help draft and pass legislation to fix difficulties with their Board of Psychology.
  • Gaye Vance, PhD, was nominated by the Alabama Psychological Association for her successful efforts to legislatively update psychology’s practice act in her state.

These four Heiser Award recipients follow in the tradition of others who have advanced psychology through legislative and regulatory changes. Without these kinds of extraordinary efforts the profession would stagnate and our clients would have reduced access to service. We owe these advocates a great debt for their service.