skip to main content

Society Presidents

Todd Dubose, PhD

dubose-index Todd DuBose, PhD, (he/him/his) is an award winning, internationally renowned distinguished full professor at The Chicago School of Professional Psychology, as well as an adjunct professor at Saybrook University, the California Institute of Integral Studies, the Circulo de Estudios en Psicoterapia Existential, in Mexico City, Mexico, and the International Institute of Existential-Humanistic Psychology in Beijing, China. He is also in private practice, is a former chaplain, and has over 30 years of experience in therapeutic care, supervision, teaching, consulting, advising and scholarship. He holds degrees in philosophy (BA, Georgia State University), religion (MDiv, Union Theological Seminary) and clinical psychology (PhD, Duquesne University). He integrates contemporary continental and comparative philosophy of religion and human science psychology (post-humanistic existentialism, radical hermeneutics, and therapeutic phenomenology) in caring for experiences of the impossible (no way out), and boundary or limit situations (the unwanted, unchangeable, irreversible, incurable, unrelenting, unmitigated, invisible, immeasurable, intangible, ungraspable), or extreme experiences such as psychosis, nihilism, suicidal and homicidal ideation, existential crises of meaning, paranormal or anomalous experiences. He sees his task as a "Seelsorge," or carer of soul (lived meaning), attending to “the happening in the happening” (Caputo), one who “keeps watch over absent meaning” (Blanchot) and/or as a guardian and shepherd of the clearing (Heidegger) for the irreducible, the unconditional, and the coming of the Other.  

His interprofessional and interdisciplinary experience is as extensive as his international experience. He has presented in such diverse places as Prague, London, Oxford, Paris, Toronto, Budapest, Brussels, Athens, Mexico City, Kuala Lumpur, Beijing, Shenzhen, Guangzhou, Hong Kong, and Jerusalem. His research attends to those persons, experiences, situations and events that are “left out” (e.g., subjugated knowledges and persons that are overlooked, ignored, rejected, pathologized, stigmatized, alienated, unforgiven, uncelebrated, and forgotten), intentionally or unwittingly, when standardized ideologies and practices of care are established, and by way of a commitment to the models of the organic intellectual, public scholar and engaged practitioner. He is very active in organizations that advocate for those persons oppressed by medicalized psychiatry and psychology (e.g., participant and on the board with the International Society for Ethical Psychology and Psychiatry), and with addressing food insecurity and community violence among at-risk youth on Chicago’s southside (e.g., participant and board member of a farm to table culinary alternative therapeutic program called The Evolved Network. He critiques such ideologies embedded in such standards of care, particularly restrictive definitions of identity, suffering, therapeutics, “the good life,” meaning, evidence, empiricism, science, method, outcomes, truth, and reality.  

He is originally from Atlanta, Georgia, has lived in eight states, is divorced, has two adult children, and resides with his partner, who is also a psychologist, in Chicago, Illinois. His avocation is in the culinary arts, particular exploring country-comfort-soul food “lit up.” He was born in the sun sign of Virgo, Cancer rising, and with an Aquarius moon. He also has a great love of animals, enjoys classic rock and smooth jazz, soul inspiring film and theater, weight/powerlifting, was a dancer for two weeks in New York City, including one memorable night at the famed Studio 54, before it burned down (and, no, these two events are not connected), has experienced full body apparitions in paranormal encounters, has trained a bit as a clown, scratched a lion on his back, volunteered to be Aerosmith’s chaplain, and yet, is mostly and simply a human being.

Gina Belton, PsyD

Gina Belton, PsyD, is the president-elect of Div. 32. Belton has served the division in task forces and interest groups as well as written for the Div. 32 newsletter. More information about Gina Belton's involvement in the division and APA is available online.

Past President:
Jonathan Raskin PhD

jonathan-raskin-200-200 Jonathan D. Raskin, PhD, is a professor of psychology and counselor education at the State University of New York at New Paltz, where he also currently serves as chair of the psychology department. His research focuses on constructive meaning-based approaches in psychology and counseling, especially their applications to understanding abnormality and psychotherapy. He is licensed as a psychologist in New York, where he maintains a small private practice. He is also the managing editor of the Journal of Constructivist Psychology. Raskin is author of a textbook, Abnormal Psychology: Contrasting Perspectives, published by Macmillan International Higher Education.

For more about Jonathan Raskin's teaching, research, and practice, please review his website.

Presidents of Div. 32

  • 1971-1972 Carmi Harari (Acting)
  • 1972-1973 Carmi Harari
  • 1973-1974 Everett Shostrom
  • 1974-1975 David Bakan
  • 1975-1976 Stanley Graham and Myron Arons
  • 1976-1977 Gloria Gottsegen
  • 1977-1978 Barton Knapp
  • 1978-1979 Nora Weckler
  • 1979-1980 Virginia Sexton
  • 1980-1981 Stanley Krippner
  • 1981-1982 David Morgenstern
  • 1982-1983 John Tisdale
  • 1983-1984 Robert Harper
  • 1984-1985 M. Brewster Smith
  • 1985-1986 Alvin Mahrer
  • 1986-1987 Harold Greenwald
  • 1987-1988 Amedeo Giorgi
  • 1988-1989 Mary Jo Meadow
  • 1989-1990 Frank X. Barron
  • 1990-1991 E. Mark Stern
  • 1991-1992 Fred Massarik
  • 1992-1993 P. Erik Craig
  • 1993-1994 Ruth Heber
  • 1994-1995 Frederick J. Wertz
  • 1995-1996 George Howard
  • 1996-1997 Ilene Serlin
  • 1997-1998 Christopher Aanstoos
  • 1998-1999 David Elkins
  • 1999-2000 Eleanor Criswell
  • 2000-2001 Constance Fischer
  • 2001-2002 Larry M. Leitner
  • 2002-2003 Franz R. Epting
  • 2003-2004 Art Lyons
  • 2004-2005 Scott Churchill
  • 2005-2006 David Rennie
  • 2006-2007 David Cain
  • 2007-2008 Frank Farley
  • 2008-2009 Maureen O’Hara
  • 2009-2010 Sara K. Bridges
  • 2010-2011 Louise Sundararajan
  • 2011-2012 David N. Elkins
  • 2012-2013 Louis Hoffman
  • 2013-2014 Brent Dean Robbins
  • 2014-2015 V. Krishna Kumar
  • 2015-2016 Kirk J. Schneider
  • 2016-2017 Shawn Rubin
  • 2017-2018 Donna Rockwell
  • 2018-2019 Nathaniel Granger, Jr.
  • 2019-2020 Drake Spaeth
  • 2020-2021 Jonathan D. Raskin
  • 2021-2022 Todd DuBose
  • 2022-2023 Gina Belton
Last updated: July 2021Date created: June 2011