In this issue

Awards Nominations Due Nov. 1

Nominate a colleague who has made an outstanding contribution to the field of Humanistic Psychology

You are invited to nominate a colleague who has made an outstanding contribution to the field of Humanistic Psychology for an award to be presented by the Division at the 119th annual convention of the American Psychological Association in Washington, DC, August 4-7, 2011. Nominations must be received by November, 1, 2009.

Division 32 Awards

Charlotte and Karl Bühler Award: given to an institution, and an individual associated with an institution, that has made an outstanding and lasting contribution to humanistic psychology.

Abraham Maslow Award: given to an individual for an outstanding and lasting contribution to the exploration of the farther reaches of human spirit.

Carl Rogers Award: given to an individual for an outstanding contribution to the theory and practice of humanistic psychology.

Rollo May Award: given to an individual for independent and outstanding pursuit of new frontiers in humanistic psychology.

Award for Distinguished Lifetime Contributions to Humanistic Psychology: given to an individual in recognition of distinguished lifetime contributions to humanistic psychology.

Mike Arons and E. Mark Stern Award for Outstanding Lifetime Service to the Society for Humanistic Psychology: given to an individual who has, throughout their career, given sustained loyal service to the Society.

Nominations for these awards will be considered with the following:

  • Two brief paragraphs explaining who the person is and why they should receive an award
  • Contact information for the nominee (address, telephone, email)
  • A recent curriculum vitae
  • You do not need to designate the specific award you are nominating the person for

Nominees will be evaluated by the Awards Committee. The top candidates will be recommended to the Executive Committee. Candidates will be selected at the January board meeting by the Executive Committee. Nominations are due by email to Susan Gordon, Awards Chair, by November 1, 2009.

Carmi Harari Early Career Awards: given to psychologists, no more than 15 years after receiving their PhD, for contribution in the areas of: 1) Inquiry, 2) Application, and 3) Social Action.

Inquiry: Awards cover the range of in-depth inquiry, research, and new discoveries and theoretical insights using a broad range of qualitative, quantitative, and integrative methods. Please include a statement that describes the following in your 2-page letter of nomination for this award: 1) General themes of the nominee’s inquiry, 2) Important theoretical contributions usually attributed to the nominee’s inquiry, 3) Research findings usually attributed to the nominee’s research and inquiry, and 4) To what extent the nominee’s work has generated research in the psychological field.

Application: Awards are given to a psychologist, or a team of psychologists, whose innovative applications in the area of psychological practice and education include, but are not limited to: assessment, consultation, instruction, intervention, and prevention. The original development of procedures, methodologies or technical skills that significantly improve the application of psychological knowledge providing direct and immediate solutions to actualizing the full human potential will be considered; as well as research informing psychologists how to better observe, define, and actualize the human spirit.

Social Action: Awards are given to psychologists or teams of psychologists who have provided outstanding services to communities or clients from groups, which might include, but are not limited to: urban inner cities, rural, refugees, minority populations, those affected by war, violence or social inequities. Contributions may be judged or distinguished by virtue of peer recognition, advancement of the public’s recognition of psychology as a profession, relevant professional associations, and honors or other meritorious accomplishments denoting excellence as a practitioner; including the improvement of delivery systems to the public or the development of psychologically informed public policy.

Nominations for Early Career Awards will be considered with the following:

  • A statement in support of the worthiness of the nominee (2 pages)
  • A recent curriculum vitae
  • A recent complete bibliography
  • A statement of presentations; with no more than 5 reprints or abstracts of presentations

Board Selection Procedure for Early Career Awards: A slate of awardees will be submitted to the board at the winter meeting (or by email prior to this meeting) for acceptance or rejection. The current president will appoint a committee of 3 past Division 32 presidents. The committee will name specific nominees; one or none for each award. Up to 3 awards may be made in any year. Awards will follow the same time sequence, selection shall be 1.5 years before the award is given (i.e.: selection in the winter of 2010 will be for awards to be granted in 2011).

Nominations are to each of the three members of this committee: 1) Connie Fischer by email, 2) E. Mark Stern by email, and 3) Scott Churchill by email by November 1, 2009.

Awards Procedure

APA Division 32 Awards Procedure:
Selection will be completed for the APA meeting 1.5 years in advance to accommodate early programming deadlines and announcements required by APA. An unlimited number of awards of any kind (one per category) can be made in any given year.

The Awards Chair will distribute the top six nominations to the Executive Committee by December 15th. The Committee will have one month to discuss nominations and decide on candidates.

Final Vote:
The names of the top six candidates will be brought to the January meeting for discussion and a final vote. Only these names will be considered at the mid-winter meeting. The following procedure will be used: Each individual voting board member will have six votes, any of which can be “none of the above” to allow for no award to be granted that year. Nominees with no votes and nominee with the least number of votes will be dropped from the ballot in a given year, but may be reconsidered for 2 consecutive years once they have been nominated.

Specification of Awards:
The board will decide which award will be given to each winner.

Requirements of Awardees:
Awardees must accept the award and give a brief address at the APA conference (for the year awarded). Under extraordinary circumstances (i.e.: medical, death in family) the awardees who cannot attend may send in a paper and have their award accepted in absentia. Division 32 does not reimburse awards recipients for travel and expenses.


APA maintains an archive of our published material throughout our websites. From time to time, you may come across a page that includes outdated science or missing details that could be improved. If you believe that this is one of those pages, please let us know.

The content I just read: