Div. 35 Awards

Honoring work relevant to women's lives
A woman applauding

About the Awards

Awards and grants are sponsored by Div. 35, either alone or with other groups to recognize work relevant in some significant way to women's lives or to the psychological understanding of gender role influences on human behavior.

For additional information on other scholarships, grants and awards, please visit the APA awards database.

For a list of current Div. 35 fellows, please review the division's fellowship information.

Celebrating Our Award Winners

Div. 35's 2021 virtual award ceremony

Congratulations to the Div. 35's 2021 award winners, who were honored in a virtual ceremony as part of APA's 2021 virtual convention. Through its awards, Div. 35 recognizes the achievements of feminist psychologists and those studying and working in the field of psychology of women and gender. The division's career awards honor the accomplishments of early career psychologists and seasoned professionals, and its teaching and publication awards acknowledge the exemplary efforts of educators and researchers. The division's undergraduate and graduate student awards uplift initiatives of students, and its section awards highlight important achievements related to the psychology of Black women, Latinx womxn, the LGBTQ+ community, the psychology of Asian Pacific American women, and the psychology of Alaska Native/American Indian/Indigenous women.

Career Awards


The Carolyn Wood Sherif Award, Div. 35's highest award, first presented in 1984 to Rhonda Unger, is given to a senior individual for sustained and substantial contributions to the psychology of women and gender across research, scholarship, teaching, mentoring and professional leadership. Nominees need not be Div. 35 members nor need they be residents of the U.S. or U.S. citizens.

The Corann Okorodudu Global Women’s Advocacy Award, established in 2007, honors junior or senior psychologists whose work includes global advocacy for women’s and/or girl’s mental health.

The Florence L. Denmark Award for Contributions to Women and Aging recognizes scholarly and/or public policy accomplishments in the area of women and aging.

The Heritage Award, first given in 1992, is presented to a senior individual who has made distinguished and influential contributions to the psychology of women in one or more of the following: teaching/mentoring, scholarship/research, practice/advocacy, professional service.

The Strickland-Daniel Mentoring Award recognizes feminist mentoring. In 2006, former APA President Jessica Henderson-Daniel awarded the first Bonnie Strickland Mentoring Award, which was renamed the Strickland-Daniel Mentoring Award.

The Sue Rosenberg Zalk Award for Distinguished Service to the Society for the Psychology of Women
recognizes an individual's service to Div. 35 in many ways over a substantial period of time, as did Sue Rosenberg Zalk. 

Teaching and Publication Awards

The Georgia Babladelis Best PWQ Paper Award recognizes the best paper published in Psychology of Women Quarterly (PWQ) as selected each year by PWQ's editorial board from the pool of all accepted, unpublished papers.

The Mary Roth Walsh Teaching the Psychology of Women Award encourages junior faculty teaching the psychology of women or gender courses and focuses particularly on teaching innovations.

The Psychotherapy with Women Award recognizes manuscripts on the broad topic of psychotherapy with women. Research (quantitative and qualitative), clinical applications, clinical case studies and theoretical review articles are welcome.

PWQ Excellence in Peer Review Award was established in 2020. This annual award recognizes up to two Psychology of Women Quarterly (PWQ) reviewers who are chosen by the PWQ editor in consultation with the associate editors.


Graduate and Undergraduate Student Awards


The Geis Memorial Award, established in 1993 by a bequest from the Florence Geis estate, offers $15,000 to fund dissertation research in the psychology of women by an advanced doctoral candidate.

The Janet Hyde Graduate Student Research Grants, established in 1996, are awarded to doctoral psychology students to support feminist research on the psychology of women and gender.

The Annual Prize for Psychological Research on Women and Gender by Students is awarded to a student research manuscript focused on women’s lives and issues or more generally on gender ideologies and behavior from a feminist perspective.

Section Awards

Section I (The Psychology of Black Women)

The Carolyn Payton Early Career Award recognizes the achievement of Black women who are early career psychologists, specifically for published word addressing the concerns of Black women and girls.

The Psychology of Black Graduate Student Women Award supports graduate student research on the role of gender in the lives of Black women/girls. 

Section III (Concerns of Hispanic Women/Latinas)

The Student Scholar Hispanic Women/Latina Award honors the scholarly contributions of a Section III student member who has conducted research or other scholarly work that advances of the psychology of Latinas/Hispanic women.

Section IV (Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Concerns)

The Laura Brown Award, formerly the Award for Exemplary Service on Lesbian and Bisexual Women’s Issues and renamed in 2004 for awardee Laura Brown, recognizes a psychologist who has made outstanding contributions in advancing lesbian and bisexual women’s psychology in the areas of scholarship, teaching, practice and/or activism.


Pioneer Awards


The Pioneer Awards recognize Asian Pacific feminists who embrace the mission of Div. 35 and Section V in her (their) professional identity work.

The Pioneer Graduate Student Award honors a Section V graduate student’s contribution in areas such as community engagement, leadership, clinical work, research and mentorship. 

Jean Lau Chin Early Career Professional Award recognizes Div. 35, Section V Asian Pacific American feminists for their contributions to leadership, academic scholarship, and community practice.

The Distinguished Mentor Award honors a Section V member who exemplifies the values, mission and philosophy of Section V.

The Distinguished Pioneer Award honors a Section V pioneer who had significantly contributed to the mission and growth of the section.

Keepers of the Fire Awards

In the Spirit of Indigenous wisdom and cultures, the awards for Div. 35, Section VI recognize those members or allies of the section of the Native community who perpetuate Indigenous ways of knowing. Those who fuel the fires of scientific knowledge and weave the threads of the community together in ways that honor and sustain the legacy we each represent.

The Sweetgrass Award honors the Indigenous psychology professional who epitomizes values and virtues through the dedication of outstanding professionalism in service.

The Sage Award is for the Indigenous Early Career Professional who is emerging in the field and is an exemplar of Native values in a role of service leadership to the Native community.

The Cedar Award is for the Indigenous graduate student who has completed research or is involved in service focused on the needs of Indigenous communities.


Last updated: March 2021Date created: January 2011