Strickland-Daniel Mentoring Award

This award recognizes the feminist mentoring of the award winner whose mentoring includes several components, and honors Bonnie Ruth Strickland, PhD, and Jessica Henderson Daniel, PhD, for their distinguished mentoring.


Sponsor: Division 35


This award from Div. 35 (Society for the Psychology of Women) recognizes the feminist mentoring of the award winner and honors Bonnie R. Strickland and Jessica Henderson Daniel for their distinguished mentoring.

Bonnie Ruth Strickland, PhD, has served psychology in many roles and leadership positions, including as president of the American Psychological Association (APA) and as a member of the Advisory Council to the National Institute of Mental Health. Through her scholarship and her advocacy, Strickland provided insight into issues of privilege and barriers to access in relation to race, regionalism, gender, age and sexual orientation. As a mentor at the national level, she organized formal workshops to assist diverse women in accessing positions of leadership within the organizations and hierarchies of psychology. Throughout her career, Strickland has demonstrated a generosity of spirit in supporting women in psychology in their pursuit of their goals.

Named as the first recipient of the Bonnie Strickland Distinguished Mentoring Award, Jessica Henderson Daniel, PhD, ABPP, was subsequently co-honored in the naming of the award. Daniel has served psychology in many roles and leadership positions, including as the 2018 president of APA and as a founding faculty and Executive Committee member of the APA Leadership Institute for Women in Psychology. She has focused her career primarily on instruction, training, supervision and mentoring, particularly for women and people of color. Daniel has developed both formal and informal mentoring networks for graduate students, interns, post-doctoral fellows and professional psychologists, and she has been an inspirational mentor who teaches others to mentor in turn.

Committee Chair and Members
The Committee Chair is a past recipient of the Strickland-Daniel Mentoring Award. The committee consists of four additional members, each of whom is a member of Div. 35. Committee members review and rate the nomination packets based on the award criteria. Committee members for 2020 are Chu Kim-Prieto, PhD; Kathy McCloskey, PhD; Jill Paquin, PhD; and and Jeanette Ickovics, PhD. 

Award Presentation
When the committee selects an award winner, the awardee is notified immediately and provided with the day and time of the Div. 35 Award Ceremony, typically Saturday afternoon, at the APA’s Annual Convention. A plaque is presented to the awardee at the ceremony.


The award recognizes the feminist mentoring of the award winner, whose mentoring includes several of the following components:

  • Introduces mentees to professional contacts and networks.
  • Takes a personal interest in mentees.
  • Provides coaching, supervision and consulting to women psychologists in practice.
  • Develops an inclusive network of professionals and mentees that includes women who are diverse in race, ethnicity, sexual orientation, gender expression and identity, (dis)ability, nationality, religion and other cultural/demographic characteristics.
  • Interacts with mentees in formal, informal and social settings.
  • Promotes democratic and non-hierarchical styles of interacting.
  • Offers formal mentoring events and programs.
  • Models or discusses issues of managing multiple professional and personal roles.
  • Provides encouragement and advice to women seeking leadership positions within their agencies and institutions.
  • Encourages women to participate actively in Div. 35 and APA committees and governance.
How to Apply

Send nomination materials via email to the Strickland-Daniel Mentoring Award Committee Chair Gargi Roysircar, PhD. Nomination materials should be collated into one PDF with nominee’s name as the file name. Nominations should include and be limited to the following:

  • a nomination letter of not more than four (4) pages indicating the qualifications of the nominee that focus on the award criteria,
  • no more than three (3) supporting letters from colleagues and current and former mentees and
  • a copy of the nominee’s vita.

Updated re-submissions of nominations from previous years are welcome.

Past Recipients

Alyssa N. Zucker, PhD

Deborah L. Tolman, EdD, Hunter College and CUNY

Jeannette R. Ickovics, PhD, Yale University

Gargi Roysircar, EdD, Antioch University-New England

Antonia Abbey, PhD, Wayne State University

Susan L. Morrow, PhD, University of Utah

Olivia Moorehead-Slaughter, PhD, The Park School

Chris Dunkel Schetter, PhD, University of California-Los Angeles, and Dr. Michelle Fine, The Graduate Center of the City University of New York

Ruth E. Fassinger, PhD, University of Maryland College Park and John F. Kennedy University

Lucia Albino Gilbert, PhD, The University of Texas at Austin and Santa Clara University

Silvia Sara Canetto, PhD, Colorado State University

Linda Forrest, PhD, University of Oregon

Marci Lobel, PhD, State University of New York, Stony Brook

Lisa A. Goodman, PhD, Boston College

Date created: January 2019