New Div. 35 Fellows

Congratulations to all new Div. 35 fellows.

Initial Fellows

The following individuals are initial fellows — Div. 35 members who are new APA fellows:

  • Dr. Heather Littleton is an associate professor in the Department of Psychology at East Carolina University. Her published research has focused on several women’s health topics including women’s adjustment following sexual assault, including the role of rape acknowledgment and impairment during the assault on women’s post-assault adjustment. Dr. Littleton has recently developed an online therapist-facilitated intervention for sexual assault victims and is currently evaluating the efficacy of this intervention in an NIMH-funded clinical trial.

  • Lynda M. Sagrestano is the director of the Center for Research on Women at the University of Memphis.  She earned a PhD in social psychology from the University of California, Berkeley and held postdoctoral fellowships at UCLA and UIC. Her research includes barriers to economic self-sufficiency for women, maternal health, adolescent sexual behavior, teen pregnancy, HIV prevention and sexual harassment in school. Her work has used psychological theory to intervene on social problems. She collaborates with health and community agencies to highlight the role of contextual factors in health processes and outcomes for a more integrated approach to prevention and intervention.

  • Isis Settles is an associate professor in the Department of Psychology at Michigan State University (MSU) in the social-personality interest group. She is a core faculty affiliate of MSU’s Center for Multicultural Psychology Research and MSU’s Center for Gender in Global Context. In her research, Dr. Settles examines how individuals negotiate multiple identities and how members of devalued social groups perceive and cope with unfair treatment. She was the 2006 recipient of the Carolyn Payton Early Career Award.

Current Fellows

The following individuals are current fellows — individuals who are already APA fellows who also now have obtained fellowship status in Div. 35:

  • Armando X. Estrada is a senior research psychologist with the U.S. Army Research Institute for the Behavioral and Social Sciences (ARI). Prior to joining ARI, he held faculty positions at Washington State University, U.S. Naval Postgraduate School, Industrial College of the Armed Forces and National Defense University. Dr. Estrada’s research examines factors influencing retention and career progression of women and minorities as well as factors influencing cohesion, readiness and effectiveness of military organizations. He is an initial fellow of Division 19 (Military Psychology).

  • Susan Krauss Whitbourne is a professor of psychology at the University of Massachusetts Amherst where she also serves as director of the National Scholarship Advising Office. The author of over 160 journal articles and chapters and 16 books, her research focuses on personality in mid and later adulthood, including work specifically focused on women’s development. She is on the APA Membership Board, is incoming chair of the APA Council Women’s Caucus and chair of the Council of Professional Geropsychology Training Programs. She is an initial fellow of Division 20 (Adult Development and Aging).

  • Nancy Sidun is the supervising clinical psychologist and director of clinical training at Kaiser Permanente-Hawaii. She also maintains a small independent practice.  Dr. Sidun has published and presented nationally and internationally on women’s issues. She is currently the chair of the American Psychological Association’s Task Force on Trafficking of Women and Girls and past chair of APA’s Committee on Women in Psychology and APA’s Division 52 International Committee for Women.  She also served as chair of the National Council of Schools and Programs of Professional Psychology’s Women’s Issues Committee.  She actively continues her lifelong commitment to women’s issues. She is an initial fellow of Division 52 (International Psychology).