skip to main content


This section was established in 2010 for the purpose of creating a forum where Alaska Native/American Indian/Indigenous women can network, get mentorship and support each other; provide outreach, guidance, and mentoring to Indigenous students of psychology; promote the fundamental objectives of the American Psychological Association and Div. 35; advance understanding of psychology of Indigenous women; and further the development of research methods and models of treatment and intervention that are ethnically, culturally and gender appropriate for Indigenous women.

Section President: Melinda Garcia, PhD (2019-21)

Section Past President: Anita Mihecoby, PhD

Section Past Past President: Julii Green, PhD

Section Secretary: Emily Sargent, MA

Section Awards Chair: Stephanie Parisien, PhD

Section Treasurer: Wendy Peters, PhD

Section Social Media Coordinator: Maredyth Cheromiah, BA

Section Program Chair: Sloan Henry, MA

Section Student Representative: Amanda Young, MA

Section VI's newsletter, Alaska Native/American Indian/Indigenous Women contains articles from the section's president and president-elect and lists section events and other relevant member information.

Membership period is January through December. After Aug. 1, memberships are applied to the following calendar year. For membership questions, please contact President Anita Mihecoby. For more information about Section VI, join our Facebook group or follow us on Twitter.

Our division brochure (PDF, 175KB) contains more information about membership benefits. Send your completed Section VI membership application and dues to the address below. (Dues are 10 dollars for section members, 5 dollars for student affiliates and new memberships are free.)

Division Services Office
American Psychological Association
750 First Street, NE
Washington, DC 20002-4242

If sending a check, please make it payable to "APA Division 35."

Questions? Contact Keith Cooke at (202) 216-7602 or email APA Divisions.

  • To network and get mentoring and support from each other.
  • To provide outreach, guidance and mentoring to Indigenous students of psychology
  • To advance understanding of the psychology of Indigenous women to further the development of research methods and models of treatment and intervention that are ethical, cultural and gender appropriate for Indigenous women.
  • To advance the scientific understanding of features of ethnicity, culture and class among Indigenous women which pertain to the psychology of women.
  • To accentuate the importance of adequate education and training in service and investigative approaches related to Indigenous people.
  • To advocate on behalf of Indigenous women psychologist with respect to the formation of policies of Div. 35.
  • To provide a systematic forum for the presentation of police, clinical and research findings in the area of services to American Indian/Alaska Native and other Indigenous women, children, youth and families at APA meetings.

Intergenerational Trauma Among American Indians: An Overview (PDF, 1MB) is a presentation that describes how American Indian women go beyond enduring adversity and embrace life, despite the traumatic history and cultural damage. Successful interventions are respectful, community based and evidence based.

Keepers of the Fire Awards (Section VI)

In the Spirit of Indigenous wisdom and cultures, the awards for Div. 35, Section VI recognize those members or allies of the section of the Native community who perpetuate Indigenous ways of knowing. Those who fuel the fires of scientific knowledge and weave the threads of the community together in ways that honor and sustain the legacy we each represent.

  • Sweetgrass Award 
    This award honors the Indigenous psychology professional who epitomizes values and virtues through the dedication of outstanding professionalism in service.
  • Sage Award 
    The Sage Award is for the Indigenous Early Career Professional who is emerging as a professional and is an exemplar of Native values in a role of service leadership to the Native community.
  • Cedar Award 
    The Cedar Award is for the Indigenous graduate student who has completed research or is involved in service focused on the needs of Indigenous communities.
Date created: 2011