skip to main content


  • APA Div. 37 Child and Family Citizen Psychologist Award
    This award, which comes with an honorarium, is for Div. 37 psychologist members who have demonstrated notable engagement in the community and service independent of their employment duties.   

  • Diane J. Willis Early Career Award
    This award, which comes with a $2,000 honorarium, supports talented young psychologists making contributions towards informing, advocating for, and improving the mental health and well-being of children and families particularly through policy.

  • Distinguished Contribution to Child Advocacy Award
    This award is presented to a nonpsychologist who has made significant contributions to advocacy on behalf of children, youth, and families.

  • Mark Chaffin Div. 37 Early Career Psychologist Research Grant
    This $1,000 research grant is to provide a promising early career psychologist funds to conduct research within his or her area of expertise.

  • Div. 37 Early Career Psychologist Service Award
    This award, which comes with a $500 honorarium, is to acknowledge a Div. 37 early career psychologist who provides above and beyond service to the psychological field.

  • Div. 37 Student Dissertation Award
    This is awarded annually for a completed doctoral dissertation concerning issues of social policy, service delivery, welfare, and/or advocacy for children, youth, and families that best exemplifies the mission of the society. The winner receives a $500 honorarium.

  • Interdivisional Exemplary Service Award
    This award is given in recognition of Mary Campbell’s valuable work advocating for children and families through the Children, Youth and Families Committee.

  • Lifetime Advocacy Award
    This is a Div. 37 award for lifetime advocacy on behalf of children and families.

  • Nicholas Hobbs Award
    This award is presented annually to a psychologist who exemplifies the ideals and devotion to child advocacy/policy characterized by Nicholas Hobbs.

  • Student Poster Award
    This award, which comes with a $50 honorarium, is for a graduate student who have submitted exemplary posters to the APA convention.

Section on Child Maltreatment Awards

Last updated: March 2021Date created: March 2013

Scholarships, Grants, and Awards

Membership in Division 37