Distinguished Contribution to Child Advocacy Award

This award is presented to a nonpsychologist who has made significant contributions to advocacy on behalf of children, youth, and families.


Sponsor: Div. 37


This award was established in 1982, and is presented to a nonpsychologist who has made significant contributions to advocacy on behalf of children, youth, and families.


The spirit of the award has been to recognize persons currently involved in advocacy efforts to encourage ongoing advocacy efforts.

How to Apply

Division members are invited to nominate people for this award.

Send nominations to the past president.

Annual deadline is December 15.

Past Recipients

2021: Michael A. Lindsey, PhD, MSW, MPH, New York University

2020: William Beardslee, MD, Boston Children's Hospital and Harvard Medical School

2017: Kelly Kelleher, MD, MPH

2016: Richard Barth, PhD, MSW

2015: Don Hernandez

2014: Desmond Runyan, MD, DrPH

2010: Ellen L. Bassuk, MD

2009: Olivia Golden, PhD, Urban Institute, Washington, D.C.

2008: Shay Bilchik, JD, Georgetown University, Washington, D.C.

2007: Laurie Mulvey, MSW, University of Pittsburgh Office of Child Development

2006: Robin Kimbrough-Melton, JD, Clemson University

2005: Beth Stroul, MEd, Management and Training Innovations, Inc.

2004: Virginia Weisz, JD, Public Council, Los Angeles

2003: Tom Birch, JD, National Child Abuse Coalition

2000: John E. B. Myers, JD Professor of Law, University of the Pacific, McGeorge School of Law. Sacramento, Calif.

1999: T. Berry Brazelton, MD (Pediatrician), Brazelton Center for Infants and Parents, Children’s Hospital, Boston

1999: Beatrice Hamburg, MD and David Hamburg, MD, New York

1998: No award given

1997: Deborah Prothrow-Stith, MD, professor of Public Health, Practice Department of Health Policy and Management, and Assistant Dean for Government and Community Programs, Harvard School of Public Health

1996: Howard A. Davidson, JD (Attorney), American Bar Association Center on Children and the Law

1995: Jack P. Shonkoff, MD (Pediatrician), dean, Florence Heller Graduate School, Brandeis University

1994: Lenore Terr, MD (Psychiatrist), University of California at San Francisco

1993: Richard Krugman, MD (Pediatrician), dean, University of Colorado School of Medicine

1992: Irving Harris, Irving Harris Foundation

1991: Jule M. Sugarman, PhD, executive director and CEO, Special Olympics International

1990: Ira Schwartz, DSW (Social Worker), University of Michigan Center for the Study of Youth Policy

1989: Bill Harris, director of KIDSPAC

1988: Robert Clampitt (Journalist), founder of Children's Express. Robert Keeshan (Actor), "Captain Kangaroo", child advocate

1987: Mark Soler (Attorney), Youth Law Center

1986: Kenneth Wooden (Investigative Reporter)

1985: Robert Haggerty, MD (Physician), W.T. Grant Foundation

1984: Michael Wald (Attorney), Stanford University Law School

1983: Robert H. Mnookin (Attorney), Stanford University

Last updated: June 2022Date created: October 2014