Nicholas Hobbs Award

This award is presented annually to a psychologist who exemplifies the ideals and devotion to child advocacy/policy characterized by Nicholas Hobbs.


Sponsor: Div. 37

How to Apply

Nominations should be forwarded to the Div. 37 past president and should include the following:

  • letter of nomination

  • curriculum vitae

  • two letters of support

  • any pertinent supporting materials as desired, to be submitted for each nominee

Annual deadline is December 15.

Past Recipients

2021: Alfiee Breland-Noble, PhD

2020: Barbara Fiese, PhD, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

2019: Elizabeth (Liz) Gershoff, PhD

2018: Jodi Quas, PhD

2017: John Eckenrode, PhD

2016: Patrick Tolan

2015: Sandra Graham-Bermann

2014: Michael C. Roberts, PhD

2010: W. Rodney Hammond, PhD

2009: Donald Wertlieb, PhD, Tufts University, Medford, Mass.

2008: Sheila M. Eyberg, PhD, University of Florida—Gainesville

2007: Brian L. Wilcox, PhD, University of Nebraska–Lincoln’s Center on Children, Families, and the Law

2006: Karen Saywitz, PhD, University of California—Los Angeles

2005: Robert Friedman, PhD, University of South Florida

2004: John Weisz, PhD, University of California—Los Angeles

2003: Gail Goodman, PhD, University of California—Davis

2002: Joy Osofsky, PhD, Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center New Orleans School of Medicine

2001: Barbara L. Bonner, PhD, Department of Pediatrics, University of Oklahoma

2000: Aletha C. Huston, PhD, Department of Human Ecology, University of Texas at Austin

1999: Dante Cicchetti, PhD, Mt. Hope Family Center and University of Rochester

1998: Lawrence Aber, PhD, National Center for Children in Poverty, New York

1997: Jeanne Brooks-Gunn, PhD, Center for Young Children and Families, Columbia University

1996: Donald K. Routh, PhD, University of Miami

Last updated: June 2022Date created: October 2014