Section President's Column

Section on Child Maltreatment year in review

Outgoing Section President Mary E. Haskett, PhD, reflects on the section's accomplishments during her tenure.

By Mary E. Haskett, PhD

Wasn’t it only a few months ago that I was writing my first column as President of the Section on Child Maltreatment? It seems unreal that two years have passed by and I’m preparing my final column. Time really does fly when we are having fun! The Section has accomplished a great deal in the past two years. It has been a pleasure to work with a dedicated group of Board members and active section members as we celebrated our 15th year, initiated a student board, launched an ECP Committee, formed two vital task forces, updated and expanded website content, and developed initiatives to recruit and maintain section members with a new Membership Committee. All of these efforts will allow professionals in child maltreatment to be more effective advocates, researchers, treatment providers, and educators. The section also participated in our first community engagement project preceding the convention in Orlando; Section members, led by Antonia Sheel, refurbished several rooms in a shelter for women impacted by domestic violence. I hope we will make service activities an annual section tradition. We are already in the early stages of planning an event for next year in Hawai'i and Div. 37 members will be encouraged to join the section in this activity—stay tuned for details.

One of the events I most enjoy at the APA convention is the announcement of Section award winners. The exceptional group of students and young professionals who received our 2012 Section Awards include two recipients of the dissertation grant award— Stacia Stolzenberg (Claremont College) and Kristin S. Abner (University of Illinois at Chicago). We gave the outstanding student poster award at the Div. 37- sponsored poster session to Sara Stromeyer (University of Alabama). The Section Early Career Award for Research winner was Karen Appleyard Carmody (Center for Child and Family Health, Duke University Medical Center), who was present to receive her award at the conclusion of the presidential symposium. These individuals are the next leaders in our field and I look forward to watching their careers blossom. Hopefully this recognition will encourage them to continue to conduct research in the challenging field of child maltreatment.

As the year winds down, I’d like to thank our outgoing board members for their incredible service and leadership. Amy Damashek (MAL), Amy Herschell (Treasurer), Kate Cuno (Student Co-Representative), and Lana Beasley (Program Chair) will be leaving the Section board but we hope they will stay involved in the coming years. Past President Cindy Miller-Perrin has given much time and energy to the section for many years in multiple roles; her wisdom and leadership will be missed.

In closing, I’m thrilled to welcome Jennifer Kaminski as our newly elected president-elect. Jen is a health scientist on the Child Development Studies Team at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), where she conducts and consults on prevention research activities related to child development. She has experience providing technical expertise on evaluations of programs to prevent child maltreatment, youth violence, intimate partner violence, and suicide in the Division of Violence Prevention at CDC. Jen brings a wealth of experience, enthusiasm, and energy to this role—watch for great things to happen!!

It has been a pleasure, Mary.