Founders Award

This award honors an individual who has dedicated him/herself to the advancement of psychoanalysis, and has made enduring contributions to psychoanalytic psychology and/or psychoanalysis influencing generations of psychoanalytic psychologists, through research, scholarship, practice, supervision, and/or mentoring.

Sponsor: Division 39


The honorees are recognized during the opening ceremonies of our spring meeting.

How to Apply

Please direct any questions about the Founders Award to Usha Tummala, the current chair of this Committee.

Past Recipients
  • 2020: Bryant Welch
  • 2019: Marilyn Metzl
  • 2017: Bertram Karon
  • 2010: Hedda Bolgar and Johanna Tabin
  • 2006: Oliver Kerner 

Last updated: May 2021Date created: December 2014