Stephen Mitchell Award

Established by Psychoanalytic Psychology and the Board of the Society for Psychoanalysis and Psychoanalytic Psychology, the award honors our esteemed colleague as well as a graduate student whose paper is deemed exemplary by a panel of judges.

Sponsor: Division 39


The award includes a $500 cash prize, plus $500 to cover expenses to attend and present at the Division Spring Meeting, as well as publication in Psychoanalytic Psychology.

How to Apply

All current graduate students and graduates who have received their degree within the last three years are eligible to apply for the award. 

To submit a paper, please send manuscripts electronically through the manuscript submission portal in Microsoft Word format (.doc) or LaTex (.tex) as a zip file with an accompanied portable document format (.pdf) of the manuscript file. In your cover letter, please indicate that the paper is being submitted for consideration for the Mitchell Award. 

Past Recipients

Stephanie Kroziej — Towards a Tender Sexuality: From Freud’s Implicit Taboo on Adult Erotic Tenderness
to the Unexplored Tender Critical Potential of Mitchell and Perel’s Clinical Practice  

No Winner

Gerard Webster

Celeste Birkhofer

Adam Blum

Emily B. Johnson

Tempe Watts

Mia Medina

Dimitri Mellos

Date created: 2014