skip to main content

Education and Training Committee

This committee serves the education and training initiatives and interests of Div. 39. The committee works with the Div. 39 board, associated division committees, and division sections to collaboratively assist the division in efforts to enhance the representation of psychoanalytic perspectives in undergraduate- and graduate-level psychology education; doctoral and master's level practica/externship, pre-doctoral internship, and post-doctoral training; and the assessment and treatment of underserved or marginalized patients/populations. The committee also promotes psychoanalytically-oriented research and scholarship and encourages psychologists to pursue postdoctoral training in psychoanalysis.

Committee members

Chair: Bhupin Butaney, PhD, servers as the associate program director for the APA-accredited clinical psychology program at Midwestern University (Glendale, Arizona). He currently is a member-at-large on the Board of Directors for Div. 39, member of the Advocacy Committee for Div. 42, delegate member of the National Council of Schools and Programs of Professional Psychology (NCSPP), president for Section IV of Div. 39, and the current chair of the Education and Training Committee of Div. 39. He has published and presented on a variety of topics related to psychoanalysis, cultural diversity, mindfulness, and supervision. His primary research interests include psychotherapy process and outcomes, clinical mindfulness, and the role of envy in clinical practice. Bhupin also maintains a part-time private practice in Scottsdale, Arizona.

Member: David L Downing, PsyD, ABPP, is a diplomate in psychoanalysis of the American Board of Professional Psychology. He is one of the founders and a past president of the International Forum for Psychoanalytic Education; past president of the Chicago Open Chapter for the Study of Psychoanalysis; past co-chairperson of the Div. 39 Education and Training Committee; the past president of Section IV (Local Chapters), a member of the editorial board of Psychoanalytic Psychology; and the president of Section V (Psychologist-Psychoanalyst Clinicians). He is the former dean of the Center for Psychoanalytic Study in Chicago from which he received his formal psychoanalytical education and training. He also maintains a private practice in psychoanalysis, psychoanalytical psychotherapy, and consultation/supervision in Los Angeles, California.

Member: Oksana Yakushko, PhD

Member: Andrew Harlem, PsyD

Student member: Susana Gomez

Committee publications

Committee contact information

Associate Program Director 
Associate Professor
Midwestern University
Department of Behavioral Sciences
Clinical Psychology Program
19555 N 59th Ave.
Glendale, AZ  85308
Phone: (623) 572-3790
Fax: (623) 572-3692
Last updated: January 2021Date created: January 2011