American Psychology-Law Society Book Award

The American Psychology-Law Society Book Award is given to a scholarly book devoted to psychology and law issues to recognize outstanding scholarship in psychology and law.


Sponsor: Division 41


The Book Award is given separately for authored and edited books on an annual, rotating basis. During the annual meeting on odd-numbered years, the award will be for authored scholarly books, even numbered years for edited books. The winner of the award will be presented with a plaque and invited to give an award address at the annual meeting of Div. 41 (American Psychology-Law Society).


Books are eligible for consideration if published within the two previous years based on the year of the conference.

How to Apply

Annual deadline: Nov. 1

Nomination letters should include:

  • Title and publisher of the book.
  • Month and year of publication.
  • The names and addresses of all authors or editors.

Self nominations are encouraged.

Send nominations to: Chair of the Book Award Committee

Please send at least one (preferably two) physical copies of the nominated book to the chair of the Book Award Committee.

Past Recipients


Brian H. Bornstein and Edie Greene, The Jury Under Fire: Myth, Controversy and Reform


Margaret Bull Kovera, "The Psychology of Juries"


Adam Benforado, "Unfair: The New Science of Criminal Injustice"


Ronald Roesch and Patricia Zapf, "Forensic Assessments in Criminal and Civil Law: A Handbook"


Dan Simon, "In Doubt: The Psychology of the Criminal Justice Process"


G. Daniel Lassiter and Christian A. Meissner, "Police Interrogations and False Confessions: Current Research, Practice, and Policy Recommendations"


Roger J.R. Levesque, "Adolescents, Media, and the Law"


William Foote and Jane Goodman-Delahunty, "Evaluating Sexual Harassment: Psychological, Social and Legal Considerations in Forensic Examinations"


Barry Rosenfeld, "Assisted Suicide and the Right to Die"


Kirk Heilbrun, "Principles of Forensic Mental Health Assessment" (first time award was made)

Last updated: June 2020Date created: February 2015