Dissertation Awards

The award supports students who complete dissertations involving basic or applied research in psychology and law, and the winners will be invited to present their research at the annual AP-LS conference.

Sponsor: Division 41


The American Psychology-Law Society confers Dissertation Awards for scientific research and scholarship relevant to the promotion of the interdisciplinary study of psychology and law. Students who complete dissertations involving basic or applied research in psychology and law are encouraged to apply for these awards. First, second, and third-place awards will be conferred; winners will be invited to present their research at the annual AP-LS conference and receive a cash award.


To be eligible for the award, you must be a member of AP-LS and have defended your dissertation during the calendar year of the submission deadline (e.g., if the deadline for submissions is December 31, 2015, then you must have defended your dissertation in 2015). Note: You do not need to have graduated by December 31.

How to Apply

To apply for the Dissertation Awards, please attach the following items in an email by December 31: 

  • the dissertation as it was submitted to the student’s university (in Word or PDF);
  • the dissertation with all author, advisor, and school identifying information removed (in Word or PDF);
  • a signed letter of support (on letterhead) from the dissertation advisor.

These can be submitted via one email from the student, or via separate emails from the student and advisor.

For more information, please contact the chair of the Dissertation Awards Committee.

Annual deadline: December 31

Past Recipients


1st place

2nd place

3rd place

2019 Christine Shahan Brugh Dylan T. Gatner Alicia Nijdam-Jones
2018 Lucy Guarnera Pia Hollerbach Rachel Greenspan
2017 Nathalie Brackmann Melissa Colloff Lauren Kois
2016 Evan McCuish Caitlin Cavanaugh Kelsey Henderson
2015 Skye Stephens Laura White Alana Krix
2014 Anthony Perillo (tie) Miko Wilford & Misun Yi Jeffrey Kukucka
2013 Taeko Wachi Rebecca Weiss Heather Butler
2012 Kaitlyn McLachlan Ekaterina Pivovarova Jessica Salerno
2011 Annelies Vredeveldt Jay P. Singh Julia Clara Busso Kennard
2010 Samantha Schwartz Caroline Crocker Ashley Christiansen
2009 Tarika Daftary-Kapur Gianni Pirelli Bethany Young
2008 Margaret C. Stevenson Laura G. Kirsch Melanie R. Farkas & Lindsay Malloy
2007 Jeffrey Haun Kathryn Modecki Tracy Fass
2006 Amy Leach Jessica Klaver Jessica Meyer
2005 Tara Mitchell Lisa Chraznowski Lora Levett &
Greg Kramer
2004 Jodi Viljoen Candice Odgers Martin Hildebrand
2003 Virginia Cooper Teri Forrest Mary Ann Campbell & Alexis Kennedy
2002 Jennifer Groscup Tamara Haegerich Gina Vincent &
David DeMatteo
2001 Mark Phillips Christian Meissner Eve Brank
2000 Bradley McAuliff Lyn Castrianno Kimberly Brown
1999 Jennifer Skeem   Dan Krauss
1998 Joanna Pozzulo Jennifer Robbennolt Dennis Stolle
1997 David Glass Stephen Anderer Richard Redding
1996 Kimberly Lonsway Charles R. Mullin Phyllis B. Gerstenfeld
1995 Lori Beth Frank Mindy Mechanic Maithilee K. Pathak
1994 Margaret Kovera Karen Leslie Steinberg Nancy Schneider
1993 Ann Tobey Doug Narby
1992 Bette Bottoms
Cathy Carter
1991 Barry Rosenfeld

1990 James Ogloff Regina Schuller Mark Small

1988 Patricia Frazier

1987 Brian Cutler

1986 Roselle Wissler

1985 Nancy Brekke Carol Krafka
1984 Daniel Linz

1983 Sarah Tanford Edie Greene
Last updated: June 2020Date created: February 2015