AP-LS Award for Best Undergraduate Paper

Recognizes an outstanding undergraduate research paper focused on the interdisciplinary study of psychology and law.


Sponsor: Division 41


To be eligible for an award, the student must be the major contributor to a project on a topic relevant to psychology and law (i.e., the student had primary responsibility for initiating and conducting the project even though the project will usually be conducted under the supervision of a mentor). Data collection should be complete. Winners will be encouraged to submit their work for presentation at the AP-LS Conference (as first authors). Students may submit their work during their first post-undergraduate year as long as the work was conducted during their undergraduate career.

How to Apply

Nominations/applications: Send one copy of each of the following:

  • APA style manuscript or thesis detailing the research to be considered for an award in less than 20 pages of text.

  • Letter of support from the student’s faculty supervisor; this letter must characterize the nature and extent of the student’s contribution to the project.

Nomination deadline

June 30 (annually)

Decision made by

AP-LS Undergraduate Paper Award Committee

Proposals will be judged based on independence, originality, contribution to field, soundness of design and analyses and quality of writing.


Annually at the AP-LS Annual Meeting. First, second and third place winners will be determined. First place will receive an award of $500, second place $300 and third place $150. Award recipients will be strongly encouraged to attend the conference and to present a poster at the poster session in a “Winner’s Circle.”


Submissions must be received via email (in Microsoft Word) committee chair on or before June 30.

Past Recipients

Nicholas Michalski (Advisor: Jennifer Hunt)
Weyam Fahmy (Advisor: Brent Snook)
Eleanor Prince (Advisor: Michael Lamb)


Julian Siebert (Advisor: Colin Tredoux)
Sydney Wood (Advisor: Evan Mandery)
Zsofia Szojka (Advisor: Michael Lamb)


Hannah Phalen (Advisor: Edie Greene)
Siara D. Johnson (Advisor: Naomi Goldstein)
Tyler J. Plogher (Advisor: Margaret Stevenson)


Alex Lyon (Advisors: Gail Goodman/Deborah Goldfarb)
Alan Buttars (Advisor: Matt Huss)
Samantha Andrews (Advisor: Michael Lamb)


Dana Forman (Advisor: Dave DeMatteo)
Nikoleta Despodova (Advisor: Elizabeth Jeglic)
Alan Buttars (Advisor: Matt Huss)


Natalie Harrison (Advisor: Ron Roesch)
Evan Marie Lowder (Advisor: Aubrey Immelman)
Shelby Arnold (Advisor: Naomi Goldstein)


Devon Porter (Advisor: Daniel Reisberg) & James Lant (Advisor: Kimberley Clow)
Christina Stanford (Advisor: Jeffrey Anastasi)


Adam Blanchard (Advisor: Kevin Douglas)
Darcy Burgers (Advisor: Dickon Reppucci)
Jennifer Newman (Advisor: Kim Roberts)


Kyla Matthews (Advisor: Meredith Allison)
Adana Lagerstrom (Advisor Jodi Viljoen)
Alison Ryan (Advisor: Daniel Krauss)


Sarah McFadden
Marissa Reiter


Haley Deveau
Kaitlin Bountress

Hannah Dietrich